We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland
Ranked #126 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Groves, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“toomanykidz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

you can never go wrong with the Marriott chain. Safe super nice place to stay. Went for an air force graduation but would stay here when visiting San Antonio. Friendly staff ,clean large rooms. breakfast was great. and after a night out the kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Close to ever where you need to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toomanykidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    70
    27
    15
    17
See reviews for
153
12
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is super close to the base (maybe 10 minutes depending on lights) and great for the money. The staff was very friendly and familiar with having military families in every weekend for graduation. When they found out that we were there for graduation they checked to make sure we had the BMT grad rate. Turned out that I had found a better rate online, but it was really nice that they checked without question. The hotel was clean and well kept during our stay. The room was a little odd with sliding doors for the two bathrooms, but it wasn't a huge deal. They serve a continental breakfast every morning; they start this earlier on Thursday and Friday due to the ceremonies, but we left for base before 6 am on Thursday so we couldn't take advantage of it that day. This hotel is also right next to a great restaurant (54 Street) - walking there was great. Another bonus - if you turn right out of the hotel parking lot and make a left at the next intersection you will find yourself at a huge shopping center that includes a Target, Panera, and other stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laconia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Myself and four of our airman's family members arrived the Wednesday before graduation. We were greeted by a very friendly and informative front desk staff. The grounds and the reception area were beautiful and clean. We checked in quickly and with no snags. As we entered our room we were very happy with what we saw. It was roomy and clean. The sitting area with the fold out sectional was very nice as was the desk area and microwave/refrigerator area. The beds were nice and there was plenty of storage for 5 people. There is a dresser and a couple drawers under the tv as well as a closet. We really liked that the shower room was separate from the restroom. And there are sinks and mirrors in both. Being as we had 4 adults and a teenager we had plenty of room to get ready. The only draw back is there isn't a lot of noise barrier since the doors to both are sliding doors and not heavy doors. But I figure if the five of us can deal with it, most people will be okay with it. I have to say one of the best things about the hotel for us was it's convenient location in regards to Lackland. It only took us about 10 minutes to get to and from the base. We traveled back and forth during the week and on the weekend and never had trouble with traffic. Our airman just wanted to hang out at the hotel when he had off-base liberties and the hotel was very comfortable for that. I also want to mention the restaurant next door. I believe it is the 54th street grill. We ate there twice during our stay and it was amazing both times. It is also fairly inexpensive. If we ever visit San Antonio again we will definitely stay at springhill suites. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTLaconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We just wanted to take a moment to let you know how much we appreciate your business and positive comments. We really value you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. If there is anything we can do for you, please let us know. We would also like to know where we can find more great clients like you! It's customers like you that make this business worthwhile. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights to attend our daughter's graduation from the Air Force BMT at Lackland AFB. Very convenient to Lackland. The hotel was great, the staff was warm and very helpful in every way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamiller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a good property. It was clean and well maintained. We would stay here again.

Location: This property is VERY close to SeaWorld. I missed that there was a shuttle to the park which would have saved us $15.00. Since we didn't know about the shuttle I can't really comment on it, but I did find the review "Very Nice Property" on 8/21/2012 to be interesting!

Breakfast: The breakfast was standard for this type of Marriott property. Make your own waffles, eggs, cereal, pastries, fruit, etc. The seating was inadequate for the property. Breakfast was VERY busy each day we were there and since we don't enjoy the intensity in cutting through the crowd to get this type of breakfast we ended up going elsewhere. There is a "Cracker Barrell" and "Egg and I" in the nearby plazas if you are like us!

Coffee is available 24 hours off the main lobby.

Rooms: The rooms were clean and well maintained. We did have one day in which house keeping was a little less thorough but no major complaints. The bathroom was split (toilet and sink in one room, larger sink and shower in the other). The doors of these two bathrooms were frosted which had an unexpected consequence. I am usually the first one up in the morning and in most hotels I take my shower before anyone else is awake. The frosted glass meant that the light would have woken up the light sleepers so I ended up waiting in the dark not wanting to wake anyone too early :-/

Free wi-fi is available in the rooms.

rooms have a refirgerator and microwave and nice flat panel tv.

Quiet: The property is on a busy road and right next to the highway, that being said the traffic noise was not bad. We stayed on the top floor (4) and did not really hear any of our neighbors.

Ameneties: The pool is VERY small, we used it a couple nights but it could easily become too crowded. The exercise room contained two ellipticals and two treadmills. There are also two pc's available to guests off the main lobby.

Staff: The staff was very friendly, we found everyone in San Antonio to be very friendly...

Also: The Alamo, River Walk, and SeaWorld are naturally popular spots in San Antonio... I would also check out the Mission Trail (it is a part of the National Park Services) these are five Spanish/Catholic missions (including the Alamo) in various states of repair, they are pretty interesting and give you a good idea of the early history of Texas!

If you read this far and found anything interesting, please let me know by clicking that it was helpful!

Room Tip: Top floor (4), no noise from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VTMChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in the summer in August. It is a great hotel, with convenient locations all around. Very close to SeaWorld! The staff is very friendly and they go abouve and beyond to make your stay a great one. The best part of this stay is the free shuttle to Seaworld and the driver (can't remember his name) was awesome! He was just so sweet and very patient!! The only downfall was the free breakfast. They ran out of everything very quickly. I'll stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyLady4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were quite comfortable. Having a guest laundry on each floor was a plus so in some down time, laundry was done and brought home clean ending the trip on a very positive note. The hot and cold free breakfast every morning and tea/ cocoa/coffee 24/7 was great! My family would definitely stay here again. The rooms were quiet and spacious and a great deal for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#176 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#158 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland
Address: 138 Richland Hills Drive, San Antonio, TX 78245-2491
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Antonio Seaworld/Lackland Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing