We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags
Ranked #174 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location and large rooms”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a newer style Comfort Suites with a partial room divider. The room was very large, comfortable and quiet. The HVAC system worked well and kept the room at the desired temperature. We had breakfast early Saturday morning and it was very nice, quiet and there were plenty of choices. Sunday we ran some friends to the airport them came back for breakfast before checking out. It was later in the morning and breakfast was very hectic, with some people just piling food on plates and taking it to their room, others just up and left without cleaning away their plates when finished. Despite the greedy and discourteous guests, the staff did a commendable job of keeping the food items stocked and the tables cleared. Three waffle makers helped keep the wait for waffles short. We visit Fiesta Texas often and will make this our hotel of choice for future trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jls263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, General Manager at Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreicate the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your visit. We are a newer style Comfort Suites which does allow more space for families to be comfortable along with providing the individual HVAC units, complimentary high speed internet access, microwave and refrigerators in all the suites. Breakfast may get busy during the summer season but we do have addtional overflow seating in our meeting room along with additional help to keep the food refreshed and plentiful. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    21
    16
    13
See reviews for
79
25
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed here several times and overall this is a very nice hotel. Yes it is loud at times. You are near Six Flags people, you are going to have your share of younger travelers. Just request the top floor or a corner to get out of the mix. Beds are great and rooms were always clean. Would recommend staying here especially in the office season. Prices come down and it's usually very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, General Manager at Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat guest of ours and we appreicate the feedback that you provided. Our goal is to provide each guest with a great experience while they are with us and we know it starts with friendly staff, clean rooms and spacious rooms. We look forward to seeing you on your return to San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was completely packed the night we were there but it was still quiet in the rooms for the most part. Rooms were clean, very large, and the beds were comfortable (pillows were on the hard side but I've had way worse.) Its not a particularly inspiring hotel but does its job just fine. Breakfast was the typical continental one you'd see at any of these places. Staff was friendly although we didn't really interact with them much.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are by the pool or the front desk, so you may want to ask for rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandMLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, General Manager at Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Comfort Suites NW and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your stay. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the size of the room and the comfortable beds. In regards to the pillows we are in the process of enhancing our bedding package so in the future when you arrive to your room there will be 4 pillows per bed consisting of (2) firm pillows and (2) soft pillows so you will have your choice. Also, we are always looking at ways in enhance and update the breakfast options so we'll continue to work with our vendor for new offerings. We look forward to having you back as our guests and thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Like some of the other reviewers, we chose to stay here because we've come to like the amenities offered by the Comfort Suites brand. While all of the expected items were available, there were a few shortfalls. One, there was a lack of seating in the two queen suite. There was a sofa bed and one chair. Sometimes we like to unwind and relax as a family and play a game of cards, or eat together... Well, there are four in our family, so we needed at least one more chair. Secondly, the microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee maker were in the middle of the room, (kind of a "motelish" feel), as opposed to being situated in a more suitable area. Lastly, while the beds were comfortable, the people in the room above us awoke at around 5:45 a.m. which equated to my waking up, too. I guess the ceiling/floor isn't designed to insulate the noise. On a brighter note, the front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, too, it included eggs, biscuits & gravy, waffles, toast, oatmeal, juice, coffee, and cereal.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor. Request the third floor if you're a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedandmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, General Manager at Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Comfort Suites NW and thank you for the feedback that you provided. Based on the room package that we offer our Q/Q suites provided seating for two on the sofa, one in the club chair and one for the desk chair but in the future, please let us know as we have additional banquet chairs that you can utilize for your family gathering in your suite. Also, we look at various arrangements of the room to provide our guests with the most access and possibly relocate the microwave and refrigerator to another area of the rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed the variety of the breakfast offering as we also look to provide a nice variety for all of our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to having you back as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Indoor pool was nicely heated. Room was lovely, with a great bed. Stayed one night only, but could have easily enjoyed a longer stay. Breakfast was plentiful. Staff was helpful and informative. The "living room" area could have a little more light, but we didn't spend much time in that area, as we were tired after a long day of driving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laplayalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

From the outside this looks like a pretty decent place to stay, but inside is a completely different story. While the cosmetic aspect is fine, the staff and operations was pathetic. I will list in order the lack of service and accoutability they have at this location.
1. When we arrived in our room there were 3 light bulbs that did not work in 2 lamps, there was stiniking food left in the refrigerator, there were no sheets or blankets for the pull-out sofa and the bath tub did not drain. When I went to the front desk to get new bulbs and bedding I was told that there were no blankets available. The bath tub problem went untreated for four days while we there despite 3 requests at the front desk.
2. Staff allowed young kids to run up and down the stairs and elevators, yelling and banging on doors until well after 2 am on multiple nights. My wife called down three times on two different nights to complain with no results.
3. The breakfast was that of Motel 6 quality, no bagels, out of sausage and bacon on more than one occassion and terrble restraint showed by the staff by allowing non guests to eat at the buffet. I watched at least 8 peopple drive up and meet guests then come in and eat while guests were left without.
4. There were at least 40 kids in the pool and the were constantly running into the lobby and up the elevators leaving a pool of water all over the floor. The staff made no effort to mop it up or to advise them to sry off before entering the lobby/elevators. Not once did the staff enfore the adult supervision for minors in the pool. This place was more like an insane asylum than a hotel.

For the money this was a rip off, I could have saved $50.00 a night and stayed at a flea bag hotel and got the same level of service. I will make sure and cross Comfort Suites off my list of choices shen I travel, take my advise and stay somewher else, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms at ANOTHER hotel are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, General Manager at Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and I'd like to apologize that it didn't meet your expectations. The issues you experienced while you were here will be addressed with each department to ensure our guest have the best experience possible and that our rooms are in working order without any Engineering issues. Unfortunately due to the nature of the week (Spring Break) we did have a large school group in house that requested addtional sheets and blankets that exceeded our additional supply but with a new bedding package being rolled out later this year we'll ensure we'll have plenty moving forward. In regards to breakfast we alway have two team members handling breakfast on high occupancy days to ensure food is being replinshed in a timely manner so I'll review with them to monitor it more closely moving forward. I appreciate your feedback and rest assured we'll address each item individually to ensure guests have a wonderful stay moving forward. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Let me say the last 2 years our family have become great fans of Comfort Suites.. BUT this was the worst experience.. We chose this hotel to be close to Six flags and for the indoor pool. Upon checking in I could tell right away this would be a rough experience. Bad luck on our side was a volleyball team of young people were booked that was just the start of a bad experience. The pool area was very HOT!! at least 100 degrees in there, the water was cloudy, and very small. I don't know where these people came from that stayed here but it was just awful, as if a local jail opened there doors for everyone to go to Comfort Suites, and that is saying it nicely. I am not trying to be mean but it was just swarmed with gangsters it look like. On top of that I get a random phone call to my room no one announcing who they are but screaming at me asking if we were making noise in our room, mind you I was on the 3rd floor with the entire floor being booked with this volleyball team, they were extremely loud. Our bad luck we were in a room right next to a room of what sounded like 50 people, college frat party. I had to call the front desk 3 times begging them to please control the noise and the "party" did not quiet down until around 4 a.m. Yes 4 a.m.... I could hear there party clearly.. There walls must be paper thin. The front desk did not even apologize for inconvenience or try to get it under control. I was very disappointed with the staff and just overall feeling of the hotel.Breakfast was very basic not like the other Comfort Suites we stayed at. The bagels were not put out we had to ask to have one, the sausage was not out,yet we seen the ladies serving it to certain guests only. Toaster was broken, it was just all run down... Very low class and for the price I should of paid 20 dollars more to stay at a Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott V, General Manager at Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your most recent stay and the feedback you provided. I will review with the Front Desk so the issues you experienced will be address to ensure other guests enjoy their stay regardless if the hotel is occupied by individual guest or groups. In regards to the pool area, our Engineer is working with our local pool supplier and our HVAC provider to address the clarity of the pool and the temperature in the pool area. Per our Choice Hotels standards we have a variety of options when it comes to our breakfast offerings and while we do have bagels we rotate between bagels, english muffins and toast to ensure our guest have a variety of breakfast offerings for multiple night stays. We appreciate your stay and invite you back in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Hotel San Antonio I-10 Northwest
Hotel San Antonio I-10 Northwest
#161 of 358 in San Antonio
119 reviews
Northwest Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags

Property: Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags
Address: 5130 Vantage Way, San Antonio, TX 78249 (Formerly Comfort Suites Near UT Health Science Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing