We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My favorite hotel in San Antonio when I'm spending my own money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
Ranked #60 of 359 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in San Antonio when I'm spending my own money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First things firts, the Menger Hotel downtown is THE place to stay. Of course rooms there cost 4 and 5 times as much as the Hyatt Place. What you get at Hyatt Place are super clean rooms, an outstadning location near all the Stone Oak shops, restuarants etc. The drive to the zoo is about 15 minutes. Downtown is about 20 minutes. I much prefer staying in the Stone Oak area because there are so many options for hopping on Loop 410 and getting to theaters, food, Seaworld etc very easily. Another big plus is that unlike all the downtown hotels, Hyatt does not charge a daily parking fee.
Our kids love the pool and we liked the little cafe, which serves an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Be nice to the desk person when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJSpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    105
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
135
60
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for Easter weekend. It was fairly clean room but a bit on the smaller side for suite type hotels. We prefer those with a separate door to the bedroom so our son can sleep and this hotel does not offer that. Location was OK as we went to Fiesta Texas in 10-15 mins around on the Loop 1604. Accommodations were nice overall. Only thing needs improvement is the lighting in the bathroom which is very dim and hard to see in the shower. Breakfast was OK but wish it offered scrambled eggs & sausage. Staff was courteous and friendly. Would stay here again in the future as the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff was not attentive checking in took a long time the staff was seemed a bit confused. The room was near an elevator and was very noisy and the Ac would shut off ther was no way of it staying on that would have helped reduce the noise level. The room was big and it had a sofa but the downside to that is the sofa looked a bit dirty. Overall first impression of the room was great but at the end it was just ok. I couldn't get the Ac temp right it was too cold too hot. We stayed 2 nights I would have stayed a3rd night but the room wasn't comfortable enough. The breakfast area was tiny.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy9675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved the location and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. I've noticed others have commented on breakfast and I would agree. It is okay. I think it is due to the warmers they use, because all pancakes, waffles, breakfast sandwiches were a little crunchy. But they offer other things like yogurt, muffins, cereal, bagels, etc. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here our first night in San Antonio. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very nice as well. It was convenient that there is a bar area/snack area that's open very late. The breakfast was okay, I only had the muffins and apple juice since we were in a hurry, but good! We stayed at a different hotel the next night and it was not anywhere as nice as this one. I'm very picky on places that I stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The room was one of the best rooms I've had stayed at in years! Bed and pillow were comfortable, the shower was amazing hot and the water pressure was the best I had ever experienced in a hotel. The only thing was the breakfast in the morning was awful. Yogurt was half water and pancakes were just nasty love the set up but food not so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staf was super nice. I stayed for my anniversary and when my partner walked in after me the front desk guy told us happy anniversary, it was nice. It is in a very good location, close to a lot of things. The room was very nice, bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in in my life! i would definately stay here again and recommend to other travelers. Even though I booked the room on priceline, I wasn't treated any differently which was great, because some hotels do treat you differently. My only down side, no Jacuzzi, I always look forward to relaxing, no relaxing in that pool, tons of kids and very loud, we were down there for like 10 minutes and it was just too much so went back up to the room, but that is not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North
Far North Central
Staybridge Suites Stone Oak
Staybridge Suites Stone Oak
#138 of 359 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites
Far North Central
Holiday Inn San Antonio N - Stone Oak Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
Address: 1610 E Sonterra Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78258-7627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central , Stone Oak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Hill Country, we are surrounded by scenic parks and lavish shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing