We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diminishing Service......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Ranked #207 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Edinburg, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Diminishing Service......”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been staying at this particular Holiday Inn since it first opened, and stay here at least once every quarter. When it first opened staff and service was excellent. However our last stay was the most disappointing yet.
After checking in and entering our room we found the bath faucet completely unattached from the sink. As the hotel was full we could not get another room and had to deal with it that night & in morning. The following day, housekeeping service was lousy! Our room was left without clean towels, the floor was not vacuumed, beds were left unmade, & trash was not disposed.
When I called the front desk, the attendant was so rude, I had to walk downstairs and ask for towels. As she accused me of "raising my voice" I was left to wonder if the about the mantra of "the customer is always right" doesn't apply here.
Also, the hotel stopped leaving wash cloths for your use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robjrpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear robjrpena,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret you received service which was less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    16
    9
    15
See reviews for
46
13
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am truly disappointed with the housekeeping service. We left our room around 10:00 A.M. Housecleaning was two doors towards our room. We returned back to our room around 10:30 P.M. and our room was not cleaned. We had no clean towels, overflowing trash cans, and 2 crying kids that could not take a shower and go to bed because there weren't anymore towels! A truly upset preferred customer!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear KevinAnd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to the housekeeping service received. I have addressed the mater with the respective department in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Not too far from sea world and UTSA. We stay almost every weekend the UTSA baseball is in town. Great restaurant within walking distance (two-step tex mex), plus other quick food & coffee joints. Staff was super nice. Traditional express breakfast offered. It's our staple spot to stay for price & convenience when we come to UTSA or sea world.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuel q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for such a pleasant review. We strive to reward our guest with world-class customer service and a comfortable destination. We have changed many features in our hotel with the intention that these changes will benefit our staff and our guest, and it is reassuring to know that our guest are satisfied and pleased with what we are doing. If you are ever intown again, please, come stay with us! Thank you, Karina Nazario (FDA)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The managers and staff here were the best. Every time we talked to them they were very helpful and friendly. I didn't give them a 5 star because the pool had leaves that had blown in and didn't get cleaned out for three of the days we were there. We needed a toothbrush and the manager provided one at no charge like they usually do. Another in our party needed one the next day and they were out. Breakfast was very good. Got old after a week, but always good. This is behind a Sonic and we ate there a couple of times. It was nice and convenient. Room was clean, maid service very good. The maids kept making the covers too short and we had to keep pulling them up. We told the person in charge and she said she would pass on the problem and was very friendly about it. Loved the managers and staff there. Would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott-Melody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuel q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for such a pleasant review. We strive to reward our guest with world-class customer service and a comfortable destination. We have changed many features in our hotel with the intention that these changes will benefit our staff and our guest, and it is reassuring to know that our guest are satisfied and pleased with what we are doing. If you are ever intown again, please, come stay with us! Thank you, Karina Nazario (FDA)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here to visit with friends that live within two miles of the hotel. The location was perfect and its easy to find as it right behind a Sonic Drive Inn. I mention this to direct you there as there is quite a bit of traffic in the area. I don't know how close it is to Sea World as that was not part of our travel plans. While the room was clean and we had a good nights sleep, it was so poorly lit that reading was impossible and the "modern" tall lights in the bathroom provided inadequate lighting for putting on make-up and cast a greenish glow. Would probably return to this hotel to visit our friends again. The pool looked nice but it was much too cold that day for swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear peanutsNewYork,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am glad you mentioned the cleanliness of your room. We are very proud of our level of cleanliness and service. I have taken note on your comment about the lighting and will submit this to the manager for consideration. We always welcome opportunity to improve.

Hope to see you again soon! Hopefully it will be warm enough to swim, our pool is great!

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place was by far the nastiest hotel my family and I have ever stayed at. Upon checking in to our room my wife and I found a CLUMP of brown and red hair sitting right there in the bathroom tub. There was dried urine all around the toilet and the floors were noticably sticky. The walls were also paper thin so we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms down the hallway from us. Plus, we found TOENAIL clippings all over the carpet right by the bed. We even wondered whether or not they changed the sheets on the bed after the last guests that stayed there- DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!! you have been warned...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champdegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear champdegolf,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We visit San Antonio twice a year to see our kids and grandchildren. We are less than a mile away from their home and can walk to many restaurants and to get a morning paper every morning. The continental breakfast that is provided is ample and has many selections. The price was very reasonable too. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socialrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuel q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for such a pleasant review. We strive to reward our guest with world-class customer service and a comfortable destination. We have changed many features in our hotel with the intention that these changes will benefit our staff and our guest, and it is reassuring to know that our guest are satisfied and pleased with what we are doing. If you are ever intown again, please, come stay with us! Thank you, Karina Nazario (FDA)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW...
#147 of 358 in San Antonio
73 reviews
Northwest Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Quality Inn & Suites SeaWorld North
Quality Inn & Suites SeaWorld No...
#225 of 358 in San Antonio
91 reviews
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Address: 9536 Amelia Pass, San Antonio, TX 78254-6196
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing