We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
$138
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$209
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,789)
Filter reviews
2,789 results
Traveler rating
1,728
661
230
100
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,728
661
230
100
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscibolo moonlazy riverhigh velocityhill countrycrooked branchtpc golf coursepool areaadult poolkids activitieskids clubbeautiful propertylounge chairslobby barlabor day weekendbusiness conferencefire pitself parking
Filter
Updating list...
2,616 - 2,621 of 2,789 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I have never stayed in a hotel as awesome as the JW Marriott Hill Country Resort and Spa. Every room has a view. The staff is very personalble and professional. I love to see the same employees every time I stay with them. You don't see alot of turnover and that is what makes this hotel an excellent choice. I can't wait to return. The employees love there jobs and will tell you so.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cspur316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

This place is not in the Texas Hill Country it is located square in the middle of one of the most unsightly examples of suburban sprawl in north San Antonio. All of the facilities try very hard to live up to the JW Marriott name but are not of the unique nature typically found at Marriott's signature resorts. Feels like some outsider's interpretation of the grand Texas hacienda but executed with tilt wall construction and chock full of vinyl reproduction animal prints. It's what happens when cliched interior design gets hold of too much money. The food is average at best but at these prices, a big disappointment. The chef uses a shovel for the salt on savory items and sugar on sweet items. Hard to taste anything else. Fresh fish was not fresh tasting and the menu overall feels like a Disney interpretation of Texas food. Missed opportunity. Biscuits literally buried in sugar as your signature bread? Really? Ugh. I must point out the TPC Live Oak golf course is truly worth the trip and the price of your room. Incredible shape and a challenging course for sure. Bring your sand bucket and toys because you'll spend plenty of time at the beach on this course. And if your tee shot is even slightly in the rough, your odds of finding it are less than 50/50. I've played every course in Texas public or private and this is in the top 5 for sure. However the food served on the golf course is pitiful, and golf food expectations are low. The halfway house has virtually no selection and the $8 turkey sandwich, once unwrapped, was obviously days old, literally inedible. Even for resort golf food this was complete robbery. As for the service experience of the mega-property overall, it's hilarious. They have so much staff, at times it seems they outnumber the guests. Yet the service is terrible. They all tend to clump together and chit chat versus actually help guests. In the restaurants and bars, they clearly must have some sort of medieval rule about who can wait on exactly which table because whole herds of bored staff will ignore you, you have to find your person. Then there's all these seating areas in bars and restaurants where they won't serve you a drink because "those tables are for waiting". Really, you won't serve me a drink while I wait for a table? In a sports bar? And you have nothing to do but gather at the bar and chat with the other waiters and bartenders? Can anyone say lost revenue? Anyhow, the staff is clearly new, untrained, clueless and entertaining to watch in action. Although I'll point out they were clearly trained quite well in the art of demanding a room number from every guest they talk to. I can only imagine some expensive tabs got walked in the early days and now all guests must be interrogated upon entry to any venue. Dad will like the golf, the kids will like the pool, mom will pay way too much for the spa experience but like it. It's not the place you'll want to stay for long but a golf course worth playing makes the rest of it a nice add on. Puts Hyatt Hill Country to shame and is a step up from La Cantera. Nice but not what a JW Marriott should be, especially in Texas.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOCDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

The service at the hotel and the extra accommodations that were made to make up for the initial mistake of not having a honey package ready, were incredible! It was a miscommunication, but regardless, they made us feel like making it up to us was their priority. From the front desk to consierge to the restaurant servers... everyone made us feel like we were right at home. The site has incredible views, and was the perfect mix of the relaxing country with glam and luxury to make our stay relaxing and fun! As sports fans, we did not want to leave the sports bar downstairs! It's incredible! This was our wedding night/mini honeymoon, so I had high expectations. Besides the initial mix up, everything far exceeded what I was hoping for. My husband and I had a great time, and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This hotel is only about a year old. It's grand in style and is a fantastic venue for holding a convention or large meeting. I was here in a convention of about 1,000 people and the attentiveness of the staff and quality of food was absolutely wonderful. I had an opportunity to walk the grounds and while the weather was cool it was quite pleasant. I would imagine this is a great place to visit in warmer weather and play a round of golf.
It is a little out of the way from the downtown San Antonio, but it is a resort with all the amenities you would expect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmtavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I'm a big believer in you can't make everyone happy all the time - both positive and negative reviews will be found for any hotel on this website. So, that being said, this is the place to stay! Everything was incredible! We have teenagers and there was plenty to keep them occupied. Customer service was TOP notch!! Awesome pool, water slide, pool table, hotel lobby just great to hang out in, friendly people everywhere. The rooms were superb - great bedding, sheets, pillows galore = LOVE! We loved it and hope to be back soon!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
Thank texvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews