We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
tyler. texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“love this place!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

this was our second visit to this resort and our 3 kids loved it. the waterpark is outstanding and provides something for all ages. fox news recently named this property the #1 most family friendly resort in the USA and this is the second largest Marriott in the world. the food is good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. the staff is friendly and they have many activities during the day and evening for the kids- games, smores, etc. I am not a golfer but they have a great golf course. they also have an arcade and a nice fitness center. it is a beautiful property and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tylerman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    575
    187
    69
    54
See reviews for
943
384
31
751
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great hospitality and comfortable stay. I felt very at home and welcome at this resort. The pool, lobby bar, sports bar an the water park were all enjoyed to the fullest. The SPA was also top rate. Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views. Hard to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruGreggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great hotel in all respects. I stayed there recently on business but can also see visiting again on vacation. Overall, I was most struck by the quality of customer service. It was outstanding. The staff was friendly, helpful and very proactive. Beyond that, the property is beautiful both inside and out -- both public spaces and the guest rooms. The hotel met all our needs from a business perspective. From a vacation perspective, the pool area looked like a lot of fun and it has a big time golf course. I did use the spa (the biggest in Texas I was told) and had a very good experience. Overall, a great resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved this beautiful resort. Spent several days on river walk then came out here to the hill country to relax. We had a gorgeous suite on the 8th floor with an amazing view over the countryside. Food is great ,staff very friendly, and awesome water park!!!! Lots of free activities planned each day for the kids and adults. Perfect resort stay.

Room Tip: Either top floor for the gorgeous hill country views and breezes or bottom floor for easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

we had a nice time here as a family thanks to friends, not so much the place.
we had a wonderful reception from rebecca-lynn, but things rapidly went down hill from there. the bar folks were most unhappy. they are pretty nazi at the pool with patrol on the gate for folks whom would bring a cookie in for their kid, never mind they are gluten free.... and the breakfast situation was dismal. they got our number wrong, we waited forever, they put us outside with the flies but never asked us where we wanted to be and we had the choice to eat with flies or wait another 20 min- with a hungry kid, you can guess.

when you add to that the requested roll out bed wasn't there and the lack of movies to watch with their awful entertainment system and the coffee in the room deal was less than a roadside hotel, i can't see wanting to make this place a regular get away from austin.

we really tried and wanted to like it, but it had just too many things that weren't right, they need to adjust their attitude and ego given the prices folks pay for a more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: you'll need ear plugs, you can hear everything in the halls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Manager at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country. We work hard to provide our guests with a fantastic experience, and I apologize that your stay did not live up to our expectations. As the Director of Restaurants, I am responsible for your service experiences in our Food and Beverage locations, and we will use your feedback to improve, including your arrival experience and our outdoor dining facilities. We gladly welcome guests of all ages with gluten needs as well. Thank you again for your feedback, and we will gladly use this information to work towards providing our guests with a best in class experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Visited to see hotel & surrounding activities. Great views, not anyone to meet us at entrance, found our way around. Noted excellent lounges & restaurants, lots of nice walking trails. Pleasant wait-staff in Crooked Branch lounge. Typical western statues decorating area as well as 'water wall' connecting two 'ground floors'.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The reservation staff are top notch, tho pool and lazy river is amazing. I recommend the kids burger and fries by the pool because the adult version is huge, but both are excellent! Beautiful facility

Room Tip: 3rd to 4th floor on backside of hotel overlooking pool area provides a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,140 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 355 in San Antonio
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing