We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water slides and lazy river are top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Water slides and lazy river are top notch”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've stayed at this JW Marriot twice and I don't think there is a better choice for families in the area. The water slides appeal to all ages and the lazy river is very nice. The hotel staff is excellent and the rooms all seem new and fresh. Valet is a bit too expensive with self parking being free and not a far walk from the front lobby. If you find my review helpful, please let TripAdvisor know. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Request pool side, top floor near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surferjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    588
    191
    71
    54
See reviews for
967
385
32
756
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The facility has many things to offer a family. Two great golf courses, shopping and good food. The water park is great for all ages. All of the hotel staff members have been extremely kind. You need to plan a family vacation here. You never have to leave the hotel grounds for anything. If you want an all inclusive family vacation, this is the place to plan your next trip.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Great resort for family. Spent 4 days in March. Had great weather. Golf at TPC Canyon course was very good. Food all around was great - High Velocity sports bar is awesome for watching games.
Staff was very cordial and attentive.
Nice running trails around resort for runners.
Spa was quite good for amenities - treatment was just average.
Would go back anytime.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JDubU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I came here on my own to attend to a family emergency. Coming "home" after a stressful day was comforting. I've stayed here before for similar reasons and even though it was a 40 - 60 minute drive from the medical center, it was worth it. Lovely rooms, excellent staff and dinner with a glass of wine at Cibolo Moon's bar helped me stay sane during a hectic several days. Would stay again and hopefully will when I can enjoy the pools!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rupacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was here for a meeting on business but came in the day before so got to enjoy the beauty of this resort. The pool area was very nice and the entire resort had a walking path that I walked on and got to enjoy the Texas warmth. Check in was fast and every employee I encountered was very friendly. The room was clean as was every where else on the grounds. Would come back here on personal time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hest0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Attended an annual conference where all occupants of the resort were someone attending. The meeting rooms were beautifully decorated in southwest art deco style and getting to each meeting I could take various paths. There were ample beautiful hallways, desert gardens and foot paths, outdoor rocking chairs, sitting areas all with eye catching landscape or decor. When not in meetings, we found that the onsite restaurants and bars provided numerous choices from intimate to a party or sports atmosphere. The food was delicious and well prepared.

The resort had terrific shops. The TPC golf shop and merchandise store had nice merchandise for which I indulged and purchased a few things. Happy!

My suite was amazing, fun and spacious, besides it being beautifully appointed with all the details, it had a king size murphy bed but also a large 6-person conference table and kitchen bar area with a view of the eastern garden area.

Finally, upon my return to home I found that I was missing a bracelet, I thought it was in my luggage but it wasn't. I called Marriott and asked if someone had turned in a bracelet. They were hesitant but said that if I could provide them with a description and, better yet, a photo then they could be certain. I did send them a photo and gladly it was my bracelet for which they return to me overnight.

True to JW Marriott standards, resort atmosphere, location, onsite activities, upscale and great design and comfort, superior staff with the best service. All Good!

Room Tip: The suite was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRHElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here for 4 night on a conference and found this resort to be outstanding. The resort is very large but easy to navigate and the food is some of the best. This resort is a little bit of a drive from downtown but fairly easy to navigate.
Activities for familes looked great including water slides, games rooms etc. and of course GOLF for the adults.
My room was spotless and large with nice amenities, I had a vew of the water slides and it was unique.
The hotels staff are outstanding and everyone of them greeted me and made eye contact when I went by and clearly it is the employees who really take this resort to another level, customer service culture is definitly originating from the top down beautifully.
The only downside was I gained weight with all the spectaular food they served, even took a tequllia infusuion class.....
I will be back with my wife soon for a personal visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a full balcony with a view of the golf course or pools
See more room tips
Green Features: This JW Marriott is very sensitive to the environment and they have many ways you can participate staying at the hotel
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moduline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,725 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 355 in San Antonio
3,171 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing