We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent on every level”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Beautiful property. Went for our 30th anniversary. Concierge Andrea was amazing. Front desk staff Matthew got us a great room. Super dinner at Oak 18. Even the evening turn down staff made our evening special with their beautiful rose bud petal messages in the room. Thanks JW Marriott staff you made this weekend so special. Great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,580 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

When you drive up to the place it's your typical grand resort with all the aesthetics that's expected with these type of properties. The drive up is beautiful and I love how isolated this property feels, but it looks like more residential properties and restaurants are popping up around the area and it will definitely lose a little of that isolation appeal. The parking can be an issue during the summer and is definitely a hike if your not willing to valet. The check-in went so smoothly both times we arrived. The rooms are nothing grand and has a typical floor plan, but the price you pay is for the view and the amenities. We stayed for 3 days and the kids had a wonderful time. The water park is the highlight to the vacation. I love how you get checked in with a wristband for your entire party. The downside, is the amount of towels that are all over the place. There is so many areas to sit with your family, but the rumors are true. If your not at the water park early, don't expect to sit in the front or any preferred seating of your liking. I loved the life jackets they have of all sizes for the kids, and the kiddie play area. My boys are 6&9 and they loved the slides which they have 3 grown up slides that requires tube and lazy river. The lifeguards on this property are on top of it. I would survey and noticed that they were on timed increments and a new one would come to replace. After a long day we enjoyed dinner at High Velocity. The service is a little slow but overall a great experience. Another day we had breakfast buffet and lunch at Cibolo Moon and please people don't be alarmed to eat at this place, even if you and your family were swimming and not wanting to leave eat at Rivertop Grill. We dried ourselves off and the staff were so inviting that you can either sit indoor/outdoor. I recommend indoor, lots of bees during visit. The waiter that took care of us, was horrible. I wish I would've remembered his name. He was so standoffish and when me and my wife ordered a beer, I saw the beer just sitting at the bar while he was chatting it up. From then on, everything downhill. The food was quite tasty for us, so that made up for the service. I truly enjoy this place for the family time, the hotel is so huge that I think they miss the service mark at times.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank mondo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a great place for leisure or business. We stayed over the Christmas Holiday and found the resort in full Christmas spirit. Nightly nigh shows, beautiful decorations. The rooms are very accommodating, most offer great views of the pool, golf course or Texas hills. Nice restaurants, outstanding golf (TPC quality), large guest area and full service spa. I've stayed at other Hill Country resorts and find this one to be a nice choice for golf and relaxation.

Room Tip: Request and upper floor with large balcony and request a room the overlooks the aft side of the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife, two young daughters and I visited this spectacular resort for 6 nights just before Christmas. This resort has incredible facilities (dining rooms, bars, golf courses, spa, workout facilities, pools, huge waterslides, etc.) and perhaps just as important an outstanding staff including everyone from the front desk, concierge, cleaning, lifeguards, bell hops, etc. Everyone at this resort was exceptionally friendly, accomodating and very well trained (especially Josh at the front desk who made sure we had everything we needed after a long day of travel). There were also many activities for our daughters. On a scale of 1-10, this resort deserves a 10+.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_n_Family2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went to the JW for the holiday celebration as we were in town to visit family. We make this trip annually and always take time out to stay at this hotel. We have a 3 year old who just loved all of the activities that were going on at the hotel. her favorites were the Gingerbread Houses and the Ornaments. Great job to the entire team there. the rooms are great, as always and the staff was overly friendly. The hotel should be proud of their team and their product! This is one of the best hotels in Texas to visit, especially over the holidays!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited this resort over a Christmas break with the extended family. Both the check-in as well as the check-out were very smooth. The building is impressive even before getting into it. Once you are in the building, you feel like you are in an infinite space: large lobby, hallways, and high ceilings. Everything is big, and comfortable at the same time. On top of the excellent facilities, their service is second to none too. They were able to accommodate all of our demands beyond our imagination. We were able to use the pool since the water was heated but I am sure it would be much better to visit this place in summer. It is very pleasant to walk outside. The gym is perfect, including the latest workout machines as well as all the peripheral amenities such as headphones, water, apples, etc. Compared to other resorts in the area, this one was by far the best thanks to their out-of-this-world service. Would love to go there again!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool area. Also prefer a higher level floor for a better view. Shy away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bassit303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort. The service is consistently good, everything is new and clean. It's beautiful. Christmas decor was tasteful. Little extras like Christmas carolers. They can do gluten free in the main restaurant. But we were there for a convention and the lunches (sack lunch) situation was chaotic And the gluten free thing was hit or miss. Unpredictable. And we were all stuck in the middle of nowhere. There was a shuttle to town but warning that if it filled up you'd have to get a way pricey taxi home. Long ways to any other restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,201 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,980 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,531 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $178 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing