We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for large events or just a weekend away! Can't miss.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel for large events or just a weekend away! Can't miss.”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I arrived late after a long week of traveling, the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out. Lots of great spots throughout this hotel to sit and enjoy the fire, or the view. Had a fantastic breakfast in the Golf Club with wonderful service. Enjoyed an incredible facial in the spa, I could stay in the spa for days!!! I long to go back. The staff is fantastic and the lazy river looks like it could be fun if you have the time to relax!

Room Tip: This property, is huge you can have great views from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    575
    187
    69
    54
See reviews for
942
384
31
749
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wrapping up a 2-night stay here. Overall, I like this resort, but think it's best for one type of traveler than for others.

First, the room I had was a standard double. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable enough, and the AC/heat works well. The bathroom was large, and offered both a shower and separate tub. The shower's water pressure was strong, and hot water came up pretty quickly.

In terms of the common areas, the lobby is a bit chaotic. Check-in was a mess when I got there. There is no definitive line, and there are multiple desks. Agents basically check someone in, then walk them somewhere and then randomly chooses another person to help out. Therefore, it's pretty much pointless to wait in line and instead, I felt like you needed to grab someone who became free. Not very consistent with expectations you'd have of a resort of this caliber.

The breakfast at Cibolo Moon was great. It was definitely one of the highlights of the stay.

The resort has a large pool area, but since it's December right now, we didn't take advantage of that. Beyond that, the resort has a spa (friends had good things to say about it), and two golf courses. If you're an avid golfer, you can't really beat that. The courses are great.

However, if you're not into golf, and if it's too cold to go swimming, there's really not too much to do on the resort's grounds.

Overall, I'd consider coming back here, but only when it's warm. There are about 1,000 rooms here, and I think this is the low season for them (since they have a lot of specials happening with their spa). Given how chaotic it was, I can only imagine what a mess it'd be in the spring or summer. That said, I hope to give it a shot one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country is a beautiful place and the was the most classy and accommodating place I have ever been for a conference. The staff, at every position, was friendly, knowledgable and went out of the way to provide an optimal experience. My husband and child accompanied me and found the concierge extremely helpful in providing directions and information. Even though it was unseasonably cold the pool staff remained on guard and helped stay enthusiastic as the Michigan family was fine with the chance to swim outdoors in December even though the temps were in the 50's. Best of all was the Cibolo Moon restaurant. Really excellent food at very reasonable prices. The servings are large and the food remarkable. The children's menu is the best I've ever seen for the price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 48823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We came here hoping for a nice quiet weekend but the place was over- run with toddlers. Bars, restaurants, the lot. The staff in High Velocity were fantastic though. Cibilo Moon was disappointing - eat in the other restaurant unless you still need a high chair and bibs. The golf course was superb and again the staff there were wonderful. Not sure I'd recommend it during holiday party season- way too noisy, messy and frantic.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank multitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We cannot say enough good about this resort and spa. The facility was clean and well kept. The grounds are huge and also well maintained. Great golf course, water park, adult pool and the spa was great too. Something for everyone in the family. We would go back here another time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 947GlennC101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel was absolutely stunning! I loved the view of the water park that they had in the resort. The rooms were very big and spacious! You should also check out the marshmallow roasting that they do along with live music!

Room Tip: If you want a view of San Antonio then get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff could not work any harder to offer the very highest in customer service. The staff will surprise you with their friendly, courteous service especially room service. A little disappointed in the spa staff as it was difficult to schedule services and they were not very proactive trying to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full balcony. Some rooms are quite a ways from the elevator so if mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 355 in San Antonio
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing