We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth a splurge?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The facility/room is fantastic; poolside drinks are few at $12+ each. I guess they don't promote happy hour at those rates. The breakfast buffet was $16 for adults and $10 for kids, and there's no way I could eat $16 worth of breakfasts foods. I think this pricing is a bit outrageous considering you already pay a hefty tag for a room at this hotel. However, aside from that it's an excellent place to be for a weekend or a convention.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank lisayoungblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are a family looking for a fun place to stay in the off-season, this is a great pick. We traveled the last week in August (sooo hot) when most families had completed their vacations and returned to school and work. We spent most of our time just hanging out at the resort and swimming. But, there are plenty of nearby attractions (our favorites: The Natural Bridge Caverns, Morgan's Wonderland, the Alamo, and more).

Be prepared to pay more than usual for resort food and I don't think guests are permitted to bring outside snacks and drinks to the swim area. Also, we were looking forward to using the bikes at the resort and getting some riding time in, but the bikes are only rented to groups of 30 or more and this is all arranged by an outside business. I think the resort could improve its website by clarifying how the bike rentals work.

While we were disappointed about not getting to ride the bikes, we were not at all disappointed in our stay. We were treated like royalty and the service was outstanding-definitely worth the tips. I highly recommend treating yourself to breakfast at Cibolla Moon during your stay (better deal if you buy a breakfast package ahead of time). You'll find a great variety and lots of healthy picks...not so healthy, but a must try are the pecan rolls. The pecan rolls are just heavenly! Another nice perk to staying at this resort is having access to the laundry room on the 4th floor (although I did get lost a couple of times). You will not need coins for the machines. Your stay covers the laundry expense.

We enjoyed our stay at the JW Marriott so much that we are considering returning annually.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our balcony overlooking the water park and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and two children stayed at the JW Marriott in San Antonio over Labor Day weekend. The room was comfortable, the grounds were beautiful and the service was good. But the pool was fabulous! Great waterslides as well as a lazy river, geared more for older kids, though toddlers do have their own area as well. (I think children between 40-ish & 48 inches could ride the slides in a double inner-tube with an adult or sibling. Those over 48 inches could ride solo.) I cannot recommend going for a summer holiday weekend. Everything was very crowded, and ultimately felt over-priced. Plenty of tattoos and beer floating around the lazy river. But I think on a quieter weekend, (especially in a few years when the young trees can provide more shade) the hotel would be a perfect getaway -- a destination on its own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie7308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is spectacular not too mention the Golf Course it unbelievably beautiful. The activies throughout the day for the children were very creative and enjoy the Smores time the most!
The experience was overwhelming magnificent and loved it that it is extremely family oriented. Love it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is tucked away on the far North end of the city of San Antonio, still within a five mile distance to all the local shops/ groceries/ and restaurants. The pool area/ lazy river/ tube water slides were a hit with our friend's kids and they didn't want to leave. The Friday night movie poolside was an experience & the kids' activities lined up were awesome at the resort.

Room Tip: Though the rooms closer to the poolside were a bit of a walk from the reception area it was worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BumpkinBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel and spa. It was very clean and the service was great. Rooms were very comfortable. The food was average but better than most hotels. The amenities were very comfortable. The conference rooms were well appointed and clean. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are traveling to San Antonio, and do not want the hustle and bustle of the downtown River walk area, consider this hotel. It is beautiful, well appointed, and most important to travelers, the staff are friendly, courteous, and top notch in their training. There is a beautiful pool, a wonderful lazy river complete with two popular water slides, and an assortment of dining to meet most palates.

Give it a try. The views are breathtaking and it is quiet at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdb0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,535 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $178 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing