We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$268
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
$158
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$209
$149
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
$227
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$270
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$251
$206
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,675)
Filter reviews
2,675 results
Traveler rating
1,668
632
220
91
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,668
632
220
91
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscibolo moonlazy riverhigh velocityhill countrycrooked branchtpc golf coursepool areaadult poolkids activitieskids clubbeautiful propertylobby barlabor day weekendfire pitbusiness conferenceself parkingconference center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,843 - 1,848 of 2,675 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Be prepared to walk to get around on the grounds. Has restaurants, large heated pool, golf courses, children activities. Need live band because the outdoor area/patio is very large you don't want to be in your room.

Room Tip: Get a room near pool if you plan to be there most of your stay-you don't want to have to walk back to your room for forgot items. They need a mini store/cart near the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXJOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here June 16 - 18th and was very pleased. The resort is large and beautiful sitting on top of a hill with great views. The staff was friendly and helpful. The water park has plenty of things to do with your family. The food was very good, pricey but you received good quality in return. The rooms were clean and enjoyable. The balcony rooms gave great views especially of the golf course. Most of the wait times at the restaurants (on weekends) were ridiculous unless you had a reservation. All in all i would definitely return to this spacious and fabulous resort.

Room Tip: adjoining rooms are nice for families traveling together.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayhoustontx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a wonderful property. A relatively easy drive from the San Antonio airport brings you to an oasis of calm set in the San Antonio hill country. I would recommend Google mapping directions from the airport as there is a tricky turn out of the airport. And, pay close attention to return directions if you rent a car, as those directions are a little convoluted.

The hotel sits atop a hill overlooking the surrounding area. You're met in the arrival area by a veritable team of people, which seems to be the general theme; there are lots of people there to help.Check-in was quick and we were able to get right into our room. The room was lovely and overlooked the Lazy River. Noise was never a problem, even though they were full for the weekend. It seems to be a popular stay-cation spot. It was a substantial walk from reception to our room, but it is a large complex and who doesn't need more exercise.

The outdoor pool area is quite substantial, with separated space for adults who would like a quiet, relaxing time. There is a lazy river and also a water slide. Lounge chairs seem plentiful and there is a snack spot in the center. The rest of the grounds have plenty of walking paths and benches.

The property as a whole has lots of gathering spots, making this ideal for family reunions, wedding or business meetings. There are activities for kids besides swimming; a nature program is available and seems suited for both children and adults. There is also an excellent golf course and pro shop, as well as a state-of-the-art spa. The gift shop is one of the best I've seen with lots of attention to unique clothing and art. There is also an above-average selection of sundries and snacks.

My husband was so taken with the TPC golf course that we skipped a day in San Antonio proper.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The JW Marriot Hill country was Wonderful the staff was nice and it was HUGE!! The kids loved the kids club. The restaurants All had the same food we stayed onsite for the whole 5 days we loved the waterpark we went there everyday we will return again :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbb36526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the JW Marriott of a Wells Fargo event. We were there for only three nights and it just wasn't long enough! From the minute we checked in until we left we were treated like royalty by all staff members we encountered. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is much better than average. The room was spotless. We noticed that our room was missing a hair dryer, I made a call to guest services and it was brought to the room immediately.

I loved the lazy river. I floated for two hours straight. So relaxing.

Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony. Ours overlooked the balcony and even though the comments made by the young lady who checked us in made us feel it wasn't the "best room", we loved it. (She said "Mr and Mrs. Gunn your room has a garden view, which is a lovely view as well". The "as well" made us think she didn't really mean it. HA!) I really didn't want to overlook the pool, I would much rather look at the garden than people.

We watched the Spurs game in the Crooked Branch Lobby Bar. Ordered a couple drinks and food. The spinach artichoke dip was the best I've ever had. We also did a flatbread pizza that was phenomenal. It was a very fun environment to watch the game! We would have watched it in the High Velocity sports bar, but got there too late to find a table. The High Velocity is hands down one of the best sports bars I've ever seen. TV's everywhere with jumbo screens above the bar. It was amazing!

Our event utilized the grand ballroom area of the resort. The food at all meals was superb. I was amazed by this as our group totaled about 1500 people. Really, really well done. If you are thinking about holding a corporate event at this resort, no need to think twice. They know what they are doing and do it well. Can't say enough good things about the food. Most memorable food item was the brisket. I overheard the person carving the meat that it had smoked for 18 hours. Never tasted beef quite so good in my life. Wish I would have gone back for seconds.

I loved the flora and fauna of the San Antonio area. Trees, flowers intermixed with cactus. Just lovely.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. I'd go back in a second!

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the garden was quiet and beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGinIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews