We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“LiveLy and noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“LiveLy and noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located 30 minutes from downtown in the Hill Country. It is also home of the TPC San Antonio, where the Texas Valero Open golf tournament takes place.
It is a very large, very lively hotel with many families, many young children. The hotel thus is a mixture between a golf resort and a family resort hotel. Pure golfing travelers might not like it so much because there are always a lot of family activities going on. Also the pace of play on the golf courses is kind of slow.
The hotel rooms are spacious enough and well equipped e.g. fridge and room safe are available. Various restaurants/bars are available, incl. Starbucks but are always very busy and noisy. One morning the wait for breakfast was 45 minutes. That is just too much and needs better organisation. On top service tends to be very slow.
The hotel is relatively expensive, on top of the room rate comes the resort fee which covers things like wifi or the gym. This, however, is available free of charge in many other hotels. But at least free self-parking is available.
All in all much more a large family resort where somehow you can also play some golf.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    537
    171
    61
    49
See reviews for
879
350
29
695
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful resort with great staff! Our family did not want to leave. As beautiful as the resort it, the staff makes the guest feel so special. We will save up and return as soon as we can. The pool is fantastic and we loved the water slides

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family just returned yesterday from a long weekend at this now-favorite destination in the Hill Country of San Antonio. We were simply amazed by the attention to detail and high level of service, from the housekeeping staff to the restaurant employees to the concierge desk attendants. It is very clear that this JW Marriott really wants to be your favorite vacation destination, and they are all willing to work hard to prove it.

We reserved a room with 2 double beds for our family of 4. They were booked up solid, so we couldn't get an upgrade to a king suite; however, they did upgrade us to a "Hill Country resort view". This wing of the hotel was actually very quiet at night, and on the second night, we requested a rollaway, and one was available, so it made it more comfortable for all of us to sleep. My husband is tall, so a double bed is not really big enough, but we made do with what we had. The view was very nice from the room, although we didn't spend a lot of time there.

We had planned to go "off campus" for dinner one night, but when the food choices were so plentiful, and the food so good, we just stayed at the hotel. The first night we ate the dinner buffet at Cibolo Moon, which was $22 for adults and $10 for kids. There was a very good choice of salads, meats, fish, vegetables, rolls/biscuits and desserts. There was also a kids table, with chicken tenders, mac & cheese and beanie-weenies, with chocolate chip cookies for dessert.

We had lunch by the pool both days at the Rivertop Grille. You can sit at a table, or have a meal delivered right to your poolside chaise loungers or chairs by a server who comes around the pool. The cheeseburgers, fish tacos and chicken Caesar salad were all very good. This restaurant also serves a myriad of adult beverages, as well as kid-friendly drinks.

I cannot say enough about the hardest-working personnel at any hotel, the housekeeping staff. Our maid, Ana G., was incredible. She was very friendly and always kept our room tidy and well-stocked. She even left us extra bottles of water and cookies one day, with a very nice hand-written note welcoming us to the hotel. Granted, we left a small tip for her each morning, but with this kind of service, she also ought to get a good raise.

There are plenty of kid's activities to supplement the pools and slides at the Range Riders Kids Club. Our daughter had lots of fun doing craft project like sand art, making bracelets, jewelry creation, tube decorating and even bingo. The staff - probably college kids - were all professional, yet fun, at keeping all the kids happy and occupied.

I could go on and on about other fine details of this hotel, but you just gotta go there and experience it for yourself. The prices may seem a bit steep, but for everything that's included, it's a bargain for complete family entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I attended a business conference at the JW Marriott and thought the hotel was wonderful. It is quite huge and some of the rooms are a far walk from the lobby. The rooms are very nice and spacious with upgraded amenities, and individual balconies overlooking the pool and golf course. The meeting and food was excellent. They also have an exapnsive pool area and PGA stadium golf course on site. What is unusual is the location of the hotel. Seeing it advertised as being in the "hill country" and fairly far out from downtown and the Riverwalk, I was expecting a very rural setting. However, it is in a new subdivision on the outskirts of town and you are closer to strip malls than the hill country. The hotel is top notch and the grounds and setting are nicely maintained, but don't go expecting to be out in the country.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side had a view of the pool and gold course. Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieP412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
160 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The pool area is just amazing: from outside you would never guess the size of it!
Rooms are very new and nicely decorated. Excellent choice! Food is excellent and the chef sources most of the ingredients on a local basis which makes a big difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We live in Texas and I have a fondness for the JW brand so we felt a little getaway was in order. The resort is beautiful and loaded with amenities. The rooms are in keeping with the JW standard, comfortable and well appointed with large bathrooms and most importantly, quiet!

The resort is very large and offers a number of meeting facilities, I wish my employer would spring for a conference there :)

Great food in all of the restaurants that we tried (Bison meatloaf?!!), the steakhouse was the only one we could not make it to. They even have a FULL Starbucks, not a kiosk. Very nice feature.

There is a waterpark complete with lazy river, slides and adult pool. We sipped on cocktails while we enjoyed the view from the adult infinity pool.

Guests of the hotel are permitted to play on the TPC course so we could not pass that up! The course is beautiful and challenging. Bring plenty of balls!

The best part of our getaway was the spa. It's amazing. The massage was great but the attention to detail in the locker room really made the experience first class. In addition to the whirlpool (which was fabulous), the steamroom and sauna they also had an inhalation room which was so peaceful and relaxing. The spa also has it's own private pool and you are permitted to come and go all day to enjoy the spa amenities after your treatment.

Overall, the resort is beautiful and very relaxing. I would highly recommend for couples or families and of course those lucky business travelers. Try the tequila flights!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place rocks! My husband and I stayed here with our 2 children (ages 4 and 9 mos.) in mid-May. Even with 2 young children in tow, it was so relaxing. The pool is great for all ages. My 4 yr. old could go down all the water slides with us and the baby was able to sit in the kiddie pool comfortably. There's something for everyone here and the staff is very accommodating. I highly recommend this as a getaway. The spa is fantastic, too. The hotel recommended an outside babysitter for us who was very good. It's about 1/2 hr. from the River Walk and 1/2 from the Knibbe Ranch, which is owned by the hotel. If the hotel is sponsoring a rodeo, go!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luka07044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 358 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing