We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanna Get Away?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Oh My God! So Lovely and Beautiful! The pool is awesome and the view from the rooms are so lovely. High Velocity Bar and Grill was delicious! This place is great for the kids in Dec.
They have elves tucking your children in bed at night. You can take pics with them and the cookies and milk is a nice touch. You gotta get away and come stay at the JW Marriott in SA

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,580 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a massive property, 1002 rooms. We were there for a large group trip, of which I'm sure they do many. Rooms,food, ameneties, decor and service were all excellent. However, if I were not at a group meeting, and not a golfer or seeking a big spa, and I wanted to see San Antonio for the first time, I might look for a hotel on the Riverwalk downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodiesouthflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a conference- hotel was gorgeous, staff incredibly helpful and friendly, food creatively displayed and tasted amazing!!! Loved the lavender lemonade. Room service pricey but I expected that.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyMc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our long weekend at this property - spent time in the restaurants and spa - A+ property. A bit isolated, so settle in and enjoy the property. All of the restaurants are fantastic, the staff in the spa is very attentive and the pools are great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Here for a conference, staff was wonderful and food was top notch. The bees by the pool were ridiculous. They were everywhere, so unrelentlous and two of us were stung. Waiters carried fanny packs with special swabs for bee stings and epi pens??? (I'm not kidding) When we asked about the issue, they replied "it's much worse in the summer" Then they made up some story about how it's nature and JW keeps a large hive nearby and collects fresh honey for use in all their cooking. Meanwhile at breakfast there were packets of Smuckers honey. I wasn't really there to sit by the pool, but I was shocked by the bee swarms. These were no honey bees, they were agressive bees. Other than that it is a beautiful property, spa was great and spa lunch was incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostonskigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a large property with glorious views of the Hill Country and really superb water features. Infinity pool, lazy river, giant hot tub fit for a platoon, kids pool, etc. Large room, great bedding, nice flat screen. One complaint is Internet service. For the premium price paid, there should not be a surcharge. It is a little bit bush league.

The bar downstairs provides generous pours and good munches. There is a fireplace, and another out back. I have had live music in the past, but this was a week day visit as opposed to weekends. The bar is on the level below the lobby.

The steakhouse by the spa has really wonderful food. I had a rib eye and it was excellent. Appetizers were good as well. Much of the food is locally sourced. Really very good.

The staff was friendly, attentive, and professional.

There is a championship golf course which I did not experience, although it looked well kept and maintained from the vantage point of the resort property.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank SLTX83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved loved loved this hotel.grounds are gorgeous, service is wonderful, and even to my difficult standards, hotel is kept very clean. As platinum members, we were upgraded to an amazing suite that was huge, had views of the golf course and the pools, and was gorgeous overall. The service all over the hotel was super. It reminded us of a classic ritz carlton experience. Kids activities were wonderful, and my boys loved the elves.. Thank you and well done to the hotel management.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,201 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,980 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,535 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $178 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing