We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great family destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just spent memorial day at this property and it was a great family place. Our suite was wonderful, beds were amazing, and the pool and grounds were lovely. It was memorial day so the place was packed, and I wouldn't return without kids or recommend it to people traveling without kids that want to relax, but we had fun!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    490
    155
    56
    44
See reviews for
797
334
27
633
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday and Sunday night over the holiday weekend with the $170/night military discount. After staying here i would never pay more than that. The hotel itself is beautiful. The water park is amazing. If you dont like 100s of screaming kids stay away from here during summer/holidays/weekends. Even though it was busy at the water park, i found a nice quiet partially shaded lounge chair area at the top of the hill-the best spot for adults to lounge; the families were all crowded in and fighting for the closest spots to the pool. Also if you like quiet, do not book a cabana- these are located in the rowdiest part of the park- good for kids though. If you self park ask for a room as close as possible to the spa, theres a seperate entrance and is a much shorter walk.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great Property. No issues at all. Spacious room, fast WIFI connection ( if you are an ipad junkie ) ... Staff is friendly and courteous. Grounds are beautiful as well. The only negative was the onsite steakhouse (18 Oaks). I had heard great things- however, it was only average. We were seated about 20 muinutes after our reservation time. Not a good start. The waiter totally oversold how awesome the steak was gong to be- so we were expecting the second coming... it was not all that. A couple notches above your local OutBack...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is big and beautiful. We stayed on a weekday and the place was quiet. The rooms are nicely decorated, bathrooms are exceptional, and room size is standard. Most rooms have great views looking out over the hill country. The pool area is great with the lazy river and private cabanas. The employees were nice and helpful. If the hotel was at max capacity...service would be lacking due to limited number of employees.

Resort charges $28 resort fee. This includes two drinks from bar on lower level. Does not include tip. The resort fee does not allow you to use the large pool at the spa.

Self parking is included in resort fee. Spots are limited. Tip...enter the hotel on the side near the spa. This allows you to get inside quicker and out of the heat.

The hotel is so large and grand but it is nestled next to a very large neighborhood. This takes away the feeling of getting away from it all.

The hotel is on a very large piece of land with most of it is empty except for the pool area. Why not put it to better use for other activities...horseshoe throwing, horse rides, fire pit etc...

The hotel also mowed down all the trees when it was built. It severly lacks any feeling of tranquility.

Room Tip: Traffic is horrendous at 5pm northbound to hotel. Plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed here with wife for a convention in May. had a room on 5th floor overlooking the golf course, 18 Oaks Restaurant area. Ate at sports bar, Cabolo Moon, and 18 Oaks steak house. They have an excellent water park just not as big as the dedicated water parks like Slitterbahn. Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Hotel has internal convention center which was nice. Room was roomy with all you would expect for $250 / night. No real frills but just the nice stuff we like such as a separate shower with glass walls, tile all around. One item I found unique was a station at the desk where you could connect a laptop to the TV using various connection cable methods. When connected, the TV acts like a pc projector. TV was about a 36 " flat screen LED. Beds had a gazillion pillows and really soft comfortable quilt and sheets. No complaints except for the location which is great for a true get away but if you want to explore, you will need a car or taxi. Is north of downtown and about a $40 taxi ride from SAT. All meals were top notch. Had an enchilada stack (think Mexican/Italian as it was an enchilada made like lasagna). The Moon restaurant is pricey at around $30-$60 per person. All drinks start at around $6. Sides for dinner were $6 each but most meals came with at least one side. Had the chicken fried steak that came with tons of mashed potatoes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILuvPDX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband had a conference at the JW Marriot and I tagged along to relax by the pool! I'm sure glad I decided to attend. We had a king room with a Juliette balcony. It was a nice room - comfortable bed, couch and chair and mini fridge. The highlight of the hotel is definitely the pool area. More chairs than you can count, servers that are very attentive, a lazy river and water slides. I really liked the adult infinity pool for some peace and quiet.
The resort is in the middle of a residential area, about 25 minutes from downtown San Antonio - rent a car if you're interested in seeing the river walk. I think they designed the resort so that you never have to leave - Starbucks, Fedex and small dry-goods store onsite. There are many dining and drinking choices on-site. The gym was nice and big for a hotel gym. I didn't use the spa, as the prices were very high. Parking is kind of a pain - either valet for $24/day, or self-park. There aren't a ton of parking spaces and it's kind of a hike to the parking.
Very friendly staff! The resort was beautifully decorated. I would go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool... we had a view of the conference center roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILuvPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

stayed here for a conference and I loved it! Unlike many other conference hotels ive been too this place is beautiful! Indeed it was a resort. Upon entering the lobby was spacious, tall ceilings, clean and wonderful handson staff. The outdoor gardens are amazing! There are two pools; one for adults and the other for kids with a water park. I stayed in a king size room and it was very big. nice patio w/ a wonderful view. Very romantic place for couples, but also family friendly. The other side of the hotel is made for conferences and has all the amenities you would need. They have screens all around so you can check your conference schedule and other activities going on. It's about a 40 min drive to downtown, $70 cab fare. Cibolo Moon had very tasty hearty food. I had the BBQ meatloaf which was huge and Very yummy! The quac was delicious also.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,828 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,521 reviews
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#14 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 77030
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing