We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Kick Back and Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
2 reviews
“A Great Place To Kick Back and Relax”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I went here last month and enjoyed our time spent.

The rooms are gorgeous with beautiful amenities. Our favorite part was the BEAUTIFUL pool and lazy river. It was such a nice time to relax outside by the beautiful pool all day. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. THE SCALLOPS WERE TO DIE FOR!

They had a beautiful golf course, and the hotel is surrounded by beautiful trees and hills. Its a very nice secluded feeling away from the hustle of the city.

The only thing that was a suprize to us at check in was the 25 dollar per day resort fee on top of your room rate. But using the resort was worth every bit of the 25 dollars paid.

The food, service, and hotel is BEAUTIFUL. Ive been to many Marriott’s around the world and by far this one is one of the best! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasaggiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    574
    187
    69
    54
See reviews for
942
383
31
749
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I was lucky to spend my 10th birthday here. This is a beautiful resort with an awesome water park! It has a splash area for little kids, 2 huge watersides, an adventure river, a lazy river, and 2 huge pools-one for adults and one for families. We had excellent service! They gave us soda, ice cream, and moon pies for my birthday! There is a fire pit where you can make s'mores every night, an arcade, some outdoor games, a pool table, checkers, and cool in room movies. We had 2 rooms that were super big! One room had a king size murphy bed for my parents, and the other had 2 separate beds for us kids. There were no disappointments! So if you want to have a great family vacation, come here!

Room Tip: Be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariobros3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I travel on business throughout the world and there is not one hotel that is perfect, but this one is close. Staff is trained well and it shows. The property is full of things to do for the young and young at heart. From the lazy river to the water slide to the 0 entry pool, to the golf course, fun, fun, fun. For those of us who want nothing but some rest and relaxation, a full treatment spa with an adult only pool (no kids!) for relaxation, soaking up the sun, and a cocktail! Ahhhhh....my kind of place! If you ever have the chance to be in the San Antonio area, please stay at this property; you won't be dissapointed.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We've stayed here five times in the past year. Our five year old daughter LOVES it. The water park, the kids activities (last stay-kite decorating and a duck race). Perfect family spot, s'mores on Friday night is a must. Dive in movies at the pool in the summer are great fun too! Rooms are well appointed, facilities are top notch, golf course is awesome, spa is high quality as well. Here is my one and only complaint. Every time we have stayed there service has been SLOW. We waited thirty minutes for drinks by the pool (it wasn't crowded) and over an hour after placing our lunch order pool side four of the five times we stayed there. Rented a private cabana and spent most ofvthe day asking other guests tobleave the "private cabana" which was frustrating (they did refund us half the cost of the cabana that night). Check in and check out can take 45 minutes if there is a crowd. Frustrating. If I am paying Four Seasons prices I want Four Seasons service. But....the kids LOVE it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodyhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed for 3 days and 2 nights for a business convention. Facilities were very nice and VERY BIG. This is not a quaint venue for a couples get-away, but was perfect for business needs. Staff was very polite; catered food was good to very good. I did not play the TPC course, but friends did and you had better bring your A-game. All in all, Mariott got this one right.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Non-NativeHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have been lucky enough to get to stay here twice for conferences and it is amazing!

The valets, doormen, bellman, and front desk staff all greeted me with smiles upon my arrival. Check in was very fast and my room was beautiful for both stays.

Hotel staff always made eye contact and greeted me, and several people offered to carry my computer bag for me on my way to a meeting room. I later heard a woman telling a friend that when she went to Starbucks in the morning, several hotel associates in line stepped aside and let her by.

The banquet staff is so meticulous and they set lovely rooms. I watched two men carefully setting water pitchers on tables, lining them up perfectly. Later I noticed that they take the same care lining up the legs of the tables.

Every restaurant item I tried was wonderful. The golf course looked amazing, ( I didn't get a chance to play) and all the public lounge areas were comfortable, inviting, and relaxing.

I love this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I was looking for an indulgent spa getaway for my mother, who uses a wheelchair, and a few other friends. We found what we were looking for at this resort. The spa, the grounds, the pools and the hotel itself were beautiful. We spent a lot of time admiring the detail (and expense) of the hotel's decor and its oversized public spaces. They've done a lovely job incorporating the natural elements of the Texas hill country into the themes and colors of the resort. One of our servers remarked that the designers were going for "casual luxury," which perfectly describes what we saw.

We five women loved the spa services and enjoyed lounging by the private spa pool (separate from the water park, no children allowed.) We were very pleased with the food, although the choice of restaurants does become limited after just a few days' stay. We dined at the rather pricey steakhouse, 18 Oaks, on the last night of our visit. Initially we were disappointed that there were two errors among our five entrees -- an overcooked steak, an undercooked salmon dish -- but then were flabbergasted when the waitress informed us that our entire dinner was being comped as an act of apology for the mistakes.

My mother was delighted by the wheelchair-friendly features we found throughout the resort -- flat pathways, accessible bathrooms, a roll-in shower in both our room and at the spa, and a massage therapist (Barbara) who took special care to gently work around her special physical needs. We all were pleased with the comfortable beds and the quiet rooms, where we slept soundly every night.

The staff seemed well-trained in the fine art of luxury hotel service -- well-spoken, polite and gracious, without being intrusive. (Texas servers can sometimes be overly familiar ... I'm happy to say no one called me "honey" or initiated a chatty conversation with me while taking my order.)

I've stayed at lots of high-end hotels and found this resort to be a bargain by comparison. The rates here were similar to those you'd pay in downtown Houston or Dallas, but you have access to all the resort features in addition to the room. I did notice that the taxes on the room increased the price by a whopping $50 per night -- I suppose that's what happens in a state that has no income tax on its own residents. Instead they collect the money they need from non-voting out-of-state visitors like us!

In spite of that, we all agreed that we'd enjoy a return visit, perhaps bringing our families the next time around. There seemed to be a lot there to entertain kids and teenagers over a long weekend or spring break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,128 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 355 in San Antonio
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing