We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”

Freetail Brewing Co.
Ranked #310 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The food was pretty good. The beer was decent,not great. In general the brewpubs in Texas fail miserably at IPAs and I felt this was no different. The blonde was good and the red above average. The problem here really was the service. Messed up orders, over charged bills including putting items that no one ordered on the taps, and was slow in all aspects. Wouldn't return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Variety of Craft Beers & Affordable Lunch”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

They had 10 Craft Beers on tap. Their $6 lunch options are very filling. If you are a fan of Craft Beer, this place is worth your time. There is an outdoor seating area that is DOG friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BPH_4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent beer, food just ok”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Met some friends here to try out the beers. We each did the samplers to get a variety. Our server was helpful and explained all the beers to us. We ordered a couple appetizers to begin with, but they came out greasy. We also ordered a pizza that was very greasy...Pizza Hut like. Our friends tried the burger and slaw and loved the slaw. When we called ahead to ask if this was a family type of brewery restaurant took, were told yes. but it's definitely more of an adults only. We did get a growler of beer and will be doing that again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Improved service, food and beer”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my second time and they are finally getting their food service together. The sandwich/salad special was very filling for lunch.Comes with a drink too. The Belgian Golden beer was delish. Easy access to the best craft beer in San Antonio and the food isn't bad either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
258 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice folks & great beer!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by after trying to find SA area breweries while on a short vacation. Found & tried Freetail and it was awesome! The beer was fantastic! Food & atmosphere were also very good. People were very nice & great to talk to. Just good folks who love good beer & food. I'll be back for sure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NATHANHOUSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freetail Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Freetail Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing