We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Il Sogno Osteria

Il Sogno Osteria
Ranked #212 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Armada, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a lot of money on a poor meal. The duck was not rare it was Raw!. when you can't chew it because it is rubbery and undercooked it is beyond rare and the waiter should have seen that and accommodated. Pricey and under impressed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    52
    28
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here for dinner with a couple of friends.

We ordered a selection of antipasti and cheeses. Whoa! The antipasti portions were decent but the cheeses were very pricey as the portions were very minimal ... they sure were stingy!

The entrees were very good and flavorful but very pricey also.

I liked this restaurant but not sure it's worth the money for the very pricey meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is high end Italian restuarant with unique selection if entrees on the menu. Make a reservation. It is located in the Pearl Brewery development so lots to do in the area. Food was excellent. I suggest not ordering an appetizer though, not much to brag there. Seafood selection was awesome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pretty good but too expensive”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

OK, so I live in San Francisco, I'm used to paying more for fine dining. But this is San Antonio at San Francisco prices. So, my $10 salad was small, and overly salted. My rabbit was also overly salted, but it was a very big portion of rabbit. My husband says his monkfish was amazing and the best he's every had, and that the tomato sauce was out of this world. My mother can't get over the fact that the gnocchi are not like the gnocchi she is used to, they were pan fried discs of polenta, "gnocchi a la Romana", according to our waiter. She also felt she had hardly any pork on her plate. None of the other three in our party made comment about their entrees, either good or bad.
But, the dining room is lovely, though loud, and the service was excellent and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lookingforlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new albany, indiana
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprize”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is on the Riverwalk and a nice break from the typical Tex-Mex fare and Bar-b-Que joints. I ordered the trout and it was tasty and a generous portion. My dining companions ordered the beef tenderloins and were very happy. Service was prompt, friendly and very accommodating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoosierscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sogno Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Il Sogno Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing