We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option to high price convention hotels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area
Ranked #84 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great option to high price convention hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My mom and I attended a conference last month in San Antonio. The conference hotel rates were $199/night. We were able to stay at this property for less than half. It was a great choice. It was just as close if not closer to the convention center than other hotels recommended by the conference. The riverwalk was less than five minutes away. The rooms were large, and the hotel is in a very quiet area. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
TravelTravelNow

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay. Yes you are absolutely correct.....we are only a couple of minutes away from the convention center. And only 4 blocks from the popular South Bend area of the Riverwalk where all the bars and restaurants are located.

Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit to San Antonio!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    102
    41
    24
    12
See reviews for
95
84
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked a room for the 4th of July last week and our stay was wonderful !!!!!
Great front desk service, Stephanie was awsome and very helpful with info on Firework Display.
Rooms were very clean and most confortable.
Pool was awsome !!!!!!
We will stay there again next year to see fireworks from the pool area.
Highly recommend this hotel service and wonderful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel_Garber, Starwood Hotels at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear C G,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on our hotel with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel accommodations and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

First of all make sure there is not a conference in town when you visit. We went while there was a conference in town. 25,000 teenagers, not a good idea. Kids running up and down the hallways screaming at all times. The carpet in the hallways was just gross and very dirty. The hallways in general were run down and in need of attention. The pool is the size of a bathtub and not enough chairs at the pool. You can't be in the pool without bumping into someone or having someone yelling in your ears. Not the place to relax. One day they didn't clean our room, not sure why. Overall, just not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skortMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us feedback on your experience at the hotel. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit to San Antonio. Yes you did arrive in San Antonio during a very busy time and normally summer is the convention season for San Antonio, so chances are there will be a convention going on during the summer. It just so happened that there were 20K+ kids running all over the city.

I would love to have you give us another opportunity to host you. Just give me a call and we can discuss some details and let me make it right for you. My direct line is 210-212-8701. Thank and please do not hesitate to reach out to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

What was really nice was that we could walk to everything, and remember I'm 78 years young. The rooms were nice and the bedding superb. The hotel is very busy and a little rough around the edges for a Sheraton. You can overlook some of this because of the location. Outstanding! The front desk staff was so helpful. They gave us directions to everything and they were correct! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairwayfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
fairwayfrank,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our wonderful city and especially acknowledging our staff.

We certainly hope to see you on your next visit to San Antonio!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
506 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great hotel, located close to everywhere you want to be in San Antonio. Front desk staff were welcoming, pleasant and helpful. Lobby area is attractive, clean and nicely appointed. Room was very adequate, spacious, and appointed with nice flat-screen, desk area, separate sitting area, etc.

Room Tip: Back wing is quiet, secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalclear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
crystalclearreef,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very proud of our team and the extra things they do to keep our guests satisfied.

We hope to be your choice on your next visit to San Antonio!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was in town for a conference. I called the hotel before I arrived, to inquire about transportation issues, and the staff was helping me before I even got here! When I did arrive, their welcoming attitude and great professionalism made a wonderful first impression. I was within walking distance of everything I needed to see and experience down here. You are within easy walking distance of the Riverwalk, the Alamo, the Convention Center, and a host of restaurants and other tourist attractions. The bed I slept in was extremely comfortable, and my room was immaculate each time I returned for the evening. I didn't partake of the food service, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time here, and I would have no problem at all reserving a room at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: If you drive your own vehicle, rooms on the north side of the hotel give you easy access to the down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAArmstrongSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
MAArmstrongSr

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the traveling community. We know everyone is busy and we do appreciate it when our guests acknowledge the team members who work so hard to provide exemplary service.

Thank you again and we certainly hope to see you in the future!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed during a conference and the hotel is waking distance (.5 miles) from the convention center. There's a sweet bakery caddy corner as well (Micaela's). Breakfast was a below average continental for $10 and the property is in need of a makeover, but everything was clean and the staff was friendly

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SullivanAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
SullivanAbbey,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on the hotel. I glad to know that our staff made your stay comfortable during your visit to our wonderful city. We hope to see you on your next visit to San Antonio!!!!

And yes Micaelas is really good!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmount
#167 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#67 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area
Address: 524 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area has completed a multi-million dollar renovation and full upgrade of the hotel to become the newest Marriott product in Downtown San Antonio. Our great location puts you in the heart of San Antonio attractions and just steps away from the famous Riverwalk, the legendary Alamo, and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Enjoy our all-suites hotel, the very spacious king or double queen suites featuring a microwave and mini-refrigerator, wet bar, separate living room with sleeper sofa, two HDTVs in every suite, free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, beautiful outdoor pool and sundeck, complimentary breakfast bar, and evening cocktail lounge. Some of the best locally owned and popular restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. The SpringHill Suites promises greater comfort and enhanced productivity, leaving you in control of your experience at the hotel. Enjoy Marriott Rewards and a most rewarding stay in our beautiful new hotel, SpringHill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
4 Points By Sheraton San Antonio Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing