We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but paying 16 pday for valet parking was annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area
Ranked #82 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean but paying 16 pday for valet parking was annoying”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I traveled with my husband and 3 years old daughter. We stayed 4 days and 3 nights, The room was clean, the bathroom impeccable, we have the SPG membership that gives us access to specific floors but I do hope all the rooms were as clean as ours; it has an empty mini fridge that was very useful. The beds and lining smelled clean and Wifi is free.
At night we could hear the guests on the room beside us, we were lucky they turned off the music around 9:30pm and the air conditioner is loud but a lot of hotels of the same category have the same conditions so nothing that should surprise us.
We took breakfast at the hotel 1 day and I was not impressed, there is a Dennys walking distance that could have been a better choice. We used the pool 1 evening, keep in mind it is a small pool but it was nice and clean until it got completely packed.
One thing that really annoyed us even when we knew about it was paying 16 dollars a day plus tip for the valet parking on top of having to wait every time we used the car.
Not sure why Four points do not buy the lot beside them where we could see the valets will park the cars when their tiny lot is full.
It is 2 blocks away from the river walk but keep in mind that the river walk is huge and this location is not at the center of it and unfortunately at night there are homeless people around the area but we were not walking late night, so we did not feel unsafe.

Room Tip: A room with view to the pool instead of parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    106
    44
    25
    12
See reviews for
102
92
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the hotel June 10-12 and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The bed was very comfortable and liked that it had several pillows. The hotel is within a few blocks of the riverwalk. It is on the end of the riverwalk that is not as active but the plus to that is it is quiet. The pool was a little small but nice. The cons to our visti was the valet parking and you had to pay for breakfast. The parking is expensive ($16 per night) specially since they park your car in the vacant dirt lot next door. However, the valet parking at the majority of the hotels on the river walk was more expensive than what we had to pay. All in all it was a good stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racing91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers AR
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Was not told by Priceline that parking would cost another 16.00 a day. Not fair to charge without warning.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This hotel sucked big time - i was there for a night at the ridiculous $159 per night, bathrooms filthy room service out of service no one answers the phone...i could only take one night checked out the next day!!

Room Tip: do not book a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I'm a big fan of the Four Points brand...this one is perfectly fine, but I was put off by the reception desk's obvious dis-interest in being helpful or friendly, and thus didn't even bother calling down or mentioning that (a) the sinks drained slowly, and (b) the curtains had been installed improperly so I had to use binder clips to clip them together and cover the window. That was a drag. However, it's a functional hotel with very comfortable beds, and if you need to be in this price bracket, the glitches were annoying but not fatal.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed two nights, did not enjoy my stay at all. Avoid the omelet breakfast bar; $10 per seat and the buffet food is not that good. Since room did not have the air on when we checked in, it took the better part of a day to cool it off (which was bad since we arrived around midnight and had to sleep the first night in an 80 degree room). Rooms are small for the price and no closet space what-so-ever. It was quite, which was good. The problem I had is the staff is extremely rude, from housekeeping to management. Upon our last day, they auto checked us out even though we were still there, out and about, planning to leave around 11:00am. When we got back to the room around 10am to prepare, our door was standing wide open, housekeeping nowhere in sight, lines all torn off bed and the drinks we were saving for the trip had been washed down the sink. Managements response to us was "People do not always officially checkout through the desk. You were checked out at 7am. See it from our perspective.". Not pleased about that at all, just glad nothing was taken (other than drinks).

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raok62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Our stay began with an unexpected, exorbitant fee for valet parking in their lot! We were given a room in which a smoke detector battery was dying and making a constant yip. Their restaurant was out of basic food items. And upon returning to our room after dinner, we found the door card key access broken, the smoke detector still yipping, and it took an hour before the maintenance personnel arrived to repair it. They compted us only for breakfast which they grudgingly brought to the room.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katenaionm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#71 of 355 in San Antonio
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area
Address: 524 S Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3418 (Formerly SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#71 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area has completed a multi-million dollar renovation and full upgrade of the hotel to become the newest Marriott product in Downtown San Antonio. Our great location puts you in the heart of San Antonio attractions and just steps away from the famous Riverwalk, the legendary Alamo, and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Enjoy our all-suites hotel, the very spacious king or double queen suites featuring a microwave and mini-refrigerator, wet bar, separate living room with sleeper sofa, two HDTVs in every suite, free WiFi, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, beautiful outdoor pool and sundeck, complimentary breakfast bar, and evening cocktail lounge. Some of the best locally owned and popular restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. The SpringHill Suites promises greater comfort and enhanced productivity, leaving you in control of your experience at the hotel. Enjoy Marriott Rewards and a most rewarding stay in our beautiful new hotel, SpringHill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Antonio Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing