We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Portage, Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would stay here again”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is tricky to find, but worth it. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were there for my sons graduation from basic military training. It is located just 5 miles from the base, so it was very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    148
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
517
58
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for our family vacation in San Antonio. It is a newer hotel, nice for a Best Western, but a bit tricky to find if following MapQuest or Google Maps.

PROS: The hotel has a nice appearance, our children felt as if they were in a fancy hotel with the modern decor. The fireplace is a nice touch, especially considering it was quite cold outside. The room was nice; everything modern from the lighting to the fixtures. The beds were very comfortable, my wife said she has not slept in a bed that comfortable in a long time.The breakfast was fine, a bit like other Best Westerns, but overall decent.

We visited the Alamo and Sea World which were both just a few minutes drive from the hotel. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and did a nice job of making our family feel welcomed. The welcome letter, addressed by name, in our room was a nice touch.

CONS: So, this hotel is in an odd location, in that nothing is developed yet around it. If you want something to eat, need to go to the store, gas, etc., it is about a 10 minute or so drive to the closest location.

I mentioned MapQuest and Google Maps earlier, we had printed out our maps before arriving. The roads are not well marked yet, as everything is fairly new, so following a map for a newly developed area is not that easy. We got turned around very easily. We did end up using our GPS on our phone which still took us down the highway a bit, but only about 2-3 minutes past the hotel before turning you around. I spoke to the hotel manager about this and he admitted that this is a concern, as roads are not yet well marked.

Summary: Overall our family enjoyed their stay here. The indoor pool, modern look, pleasant atmosphere makes it a nice play to stay . If you find yourself in the San Antonio area and typically stay at a Best Western, this hotel is worth considering. Keep in mind you will have to drive 15-20 minutes to get to an attraction.

Room Tip: The room was very quiet as it is fairly new. I would venture to say that all the other rooms are sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this Best Western to attend our son's graduation at Lackland AFB. The hotel is very close to the Valley Hi Lackland gate and the front desk staff were extremely helpful in providing directions and a map to and from the base. There is a short cut when leaving the base and the front desk staff were helpful in pointing that out.

The breakfast is not great, but it will do. We were so excited about getting up and getting to the base that we didn't care!

The hotel is in a safe area, although there is nothing around the hotel for entertainment, nor is there a restaurant in the hotel. The community around the Lackland Valley Hi gate is not safe looking. There were armed guards in the grocery store and the area was pretty run down. However, it's a hop, skip, and a jump to a larger community and restaurants and stores.

Overall, we would stay there again. The room was comfortable and it was quiet, which was important so that our Airman could just kick back and relax. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for a room far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agent99Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

this hotel was extremely close to one of the gates for Lackland AFB as we were there for our son's graduation from BMT. The rooms were clean, breakfast was OK for a typical hotel breakfast but they could have changed some items on a daily basis as it was the same each day.
Best part was being so close to the AF Base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for my husband's BMT graduation. We booked two rooms for the family. The first night, the toilet in the king room would not stop running, called management and they sent up two people to sorta stare at it/attempt to fix it (this is probably around 10pm). They couldn't fix it, so they moved me to a queen room. It was fixed the next night and they refunded me 11 dollars for the room difference. Breakfast good each morning, since the family was getting up at 4 each morning to get onto the base for ceremonies and such.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh,Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for a week for a family vacation with three rooms booked. Called to ensure we would have a playpen for the baby and when we arrived there was no playpen available. Told would not likely get one until Sunday so was not impressed. Thought I would ask again the next morning as a different person was at the desk and I had a playpen that night and for the rest of the week. The rooms were nice, with fridge,microwave and bathrooms were clean. We had the walk in shower with the half glass (odd to give us this room when we had the baby?) but it was fine as the other rooms had tub/showers. The excercise room, pool and hot-tub were all nice and clean. Breakfast was good, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravey, juice, cereal, muffins, fruit and Texas shaped waffles. Always, hot and lots to eat and a nice area to eat in....again only one high chair where two at least would be better. Hot coffee, tea, hot chocolate available all the time and the business centre was available too so nice in the evenings to get a hot drink when checking flight info etc. The hotel could use more sound proofing and I could see where that could be an issue depending on how many guests in the building etc. Hard to access hotel at first from the highways but once you got use to it you could find your way around. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, the maintenance man was very kind as was the girl on the front desk. Overall, a good experience and we would stay again in ever visiting San Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIANNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Address: 3635 Crooked Trl, San Antonio, TX 78227-4360 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Atrea Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing