We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Hotel is very nice and was located perfectly close to where I had work at. Here's the deal. The check in process needs improvement. No one to acknowledge upon entering. The desk clerk upon check in should have been more professional, courteous and trained better. Maids are great however and the rooms show it. Have to admit not all rooms are great but the maid supervisor rectified the situation. (Had room changed due to a funky smell even admitted by the maid). Also, Specifically requested upper floor not by the elevator. Guy at check in gives me room 102 right across the elevator. Not a smart move if you were trying to be funny. Overall, Great hotel, great room (4th floor), one particular staff member needs improvement. Would have rated higher if my experience reflected BW standards.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank PKPLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamas1, Manager at Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest my sincerely apologies, here at Best Western Atrea we always try hard to satisfy our guests, with your comment we are going to make corrections and make sure that incident won't happen again.

Thank you for your true comment, that help us to improve on our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    148
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
515
58
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here and went to watch UTSA play. got there kinda early and the room wasnt ready. came back about 45 minutes later and the it was. I must say this room was very comfortable, had a 35" LCD tv, fridge and microwave. Had a king size bed and i slept great that night. Bathroom had a shower, but no tub, and had half a glass door, and wondered why cause water was getting on the floor a little. If you stay here they do have rooms with bath tubs. Indoor pool and hot tub was nice, and a great exercise room too. I recommend this place and yes i would stay here again.

Room Tip: getting to the hotel is a little tricky. Any room on the third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family stayed here for my sons graduation from basic training. The hotel is beautiful, new and really close to the base. Our room had 2 queen sized beds which were very comfy and the bathroom was beautiful. Coffee maker and frig and a mircowave were a nice touch. no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Gave us a military discount, stayed in the end suite unit that had a full kitchen, much to our happy surprise. Kitchen was fully stocked so we were able to save money by not eating out the whole time. Free breakfast was the same fare you see at most hotels, but hot and served cheerfully. Extremely close to Lackland Valley-Hi gate. Beds are usually what I hate most about hotels, but this was the first hotel other than Holiday Inn Express where my wife and I both were pleased with the sleep we got. Indoor pool with hot tub was added bonus. When staying in San Antonio area this is definitely where we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very clean hotel. My room had two queen beds. The bathroom was a little bigger than other hotels. The room came with a little fridge as well. The front desk personnel was very helpful.
The breakfast bar had scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, bread for toast, beacon, fruit, three or four different kids of cereal, and a waffle maker with waffles shaped like Texas. The waffles were sweeeeeeet. I just had to take one to my airman every morning. He loved it.(Don't forget silverware if you do this.) There was also OJ and coffee. There were other items, but this is what I couldn't get enough of. Like someone else has already said, the hotel opens the bar at 5:30 am on Thursday's and Friday's. They cater to the families who are going to graduation over at Lackland. Hint: for those going to graduation...make a right out of the parking lot, go about a mile and you will see the sign for the Valley Hi Gate of Lackland. This is the best way to go into Lackland and the famous boots every airman wants, the store is located right next to McDonalds right before the gate.
They had an in door pool. The kids enjoyed that. I recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Lackland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shortcake19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel was very clean and well appointed. Room even had 9' ceilings and a ceiling fan. Delicious breakfast buffet opens early every Thursday & Friday for those attending USAF BMT Graduation at Lackland AFB. (Base is less than 5 minutes away from Valley Hi Gate which is extremely close to BMT Reception Center.) The facility is non-smoking but guests and employees would smoke right outside the lobby door! The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet as well. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailFlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here during our sons graduation from basic training. From the first night to the last, there was constant noise. The occupants that were above us, were stomping and throwing things to the ground at till 5:00 in the morning. We complained about the noise and the manager did absolutely nothing. To make matters worse, the doors to the stairway slammed shut all hours of the day and night. It was by far the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in. To top off our experience, on the 4th day of our stay, we had left briefly Sat. morning to pick up our son at the base. We were gone about an hour and a half. When we walked in we noticed that the trash bags were gone from both trash cans in the room and whoever had been in our room had stolen 2 very expensive shirts out of the closet! The beds were still unmade so we are not sure if it was a maid or someone else that had a master key. If you are looking for a place to stay where your belongings are stolen and you can go without much rest, this is the hotel for you! Never again will we stay at a Best Western! I'd rather sleep in my vehicle! If you do stay here, you better keep your clothing locked in your bag! We wish we had!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank calihappygirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,078 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Address: 3635 Crooked Trl, San Antonio, TX 78227-4360 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Atrea Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing