We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Ranked #49 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during the National Sporting Clay Championships. What a pleasant staff. Hotel and room was very clean and comfortable. Really appreciated the smoking patio on the second floor. Front desk staff always greeted me with a "hello" on my way in. I'd chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJMO13_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay in town but business brought me to the new Holiday Inn. Located right near Potranco at 151Freeway it sits in a wooded canyon. Food if all ilk nearby but thete's also a sports grill onsite.
Daily pickups to Seaworld. You'd think a family hotel would be noist. No, it just reminds me how friendly and flexible a truly perofessional staff must be. Fresh,quiet, clean and affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chevytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice 3 star hotel! This place had an indoor pool, as well as an outdoor pool, jacuzzi, and pool for toddlers. Though the temperature was warm in early October (90 degrees), the outdoor pool was chilly - my daughter and I enjoyed going from the hot jacuzzi to the cold pool and back again.

I requested beforehand for a refrigerator and a quiet room, and they gave me a very nice room on the 6th floor (not facing the 151 highway) complete with a microwave and refrigerator at no additional cost. The bathroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. Flat screen TV and free wifi. Room was very quiet. The breakfast downstairs was average and was very reasonably priced. The only strange thing was that the place had a somewhat earthy smell - not bad, but different - I have a very sensitive nose, so others may not even notice.

Definitely could come here again if my destination is Sea World - it's very convenient. In my case, I had to go to a Sea World event the following day where I had to bring my own lunch - being able to buy things the night before and keep it refrigerated in my room made it very convenient.

Room Tip: 6th floor (top) has refrigerator and microwaves inside the room - great for familes. Ask for quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Pros: Close to Sea World, free shuttle to Sea World, nice pool with kiddie pool

Cons: they hosted a dog club so there were lots of barking, peeing dogs everywhere, the elevator gets filthy, the tile in the indoor pool is very slick and dangerous

Overall: would probably consider staying again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I recently visited San Antonio Texas for the first time ever. I stayed here at the Holiday inn Express and wow, I honestly was shocked. I work in the sales department for a 5 star hotel in California, so my expectaions are high. I was the most pleased by the front desk staff, every single one of them were amazing, and so helpful. I know that it's not an easy job working in customer service and they did everything they could to accomodate my every need. The room was nice, very basic. The house cleaning staff were great, and paid attention to details while servicing my room. From what I heard, the breakfast was good. I would absolutely stay here again because it felt like I was home. This trip was VERY important, and knowing that I didn't have to worry about the hotel was a huge relief! Thank you Holiday Inn staff!

Room Tip: I stayed in the 2 queen room. It was basic, but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Texas in August requires little more explanation than the title of this review. I am not sure who the master mind behind this is but there should at least be a max temp the room is not allowed to rise above. You have to have your room key in the key holder inside the door for the lights and AC to run. Wow short sided and will keep this hotel off of our list.

Our first room was dirty and had not been cleaned and though we got a new room right away this set the tone for a bad stay. Their system needs to be revamped or processes reviewed as this should not happen.

NEVER and I mean NEVER pay for the breakfast!! Not because of the food because I never tasted that but because of the 200 kids playing in the buffet and the line out the restaurant door. Would have ordered off the menu but after waiting ten minutes to be seated we gave up and had breakfast a SONIC.... YUCK

Room Tip: Stay on the sixth floor or you will hear the thunder of little feet pounding above your head as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Jim G,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by our air conditioning unit and the initial issues with your room accommodation. I apologize that you received service that was less than satisfactory at breakfast. The Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal in this instance.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great place to stay, clean, friendly, new hotel.

Disappointed because we used "Name your price" to book hotel, called hotel to request 2 double beds because our granddaughter was with us. I was told if I wanted to "change" my reservation I would be charged $10 per night. The hotel web site shows the same price or less for 2 queen beds versus 1 king bed.

We were offered a roll away bed at no charge.

This is the first time I have encountered an extra charge when requesting 2 beds at a hotel, especially near a family friendly attraction as Seaworld. If your request a king bed will they charge you to "change" your reservation?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodwrench3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Far West Side
Hyatt Residence Club San Antonio, Wild Oak Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area

Address: 10135 State Highway 151, San Antonio, TX 78251-4548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $98 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn's first LEED certified 'Green' hotel! This is a unique property, utilizing the latest energy efficient technology and environmentally friendly materials available today. The property features a Grill, a sports themed facility offering all major sporting events on the 14 flat panel TVs, along with a selection of 16 different beer on tap. In addition, the hotel has three pools (one indoor, two outdoor, including a kiddie pool) and a hot tub. The guest rooms all have 32' flat panel televisions, pillow top mattresses, coffee makers, irons/boards and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio Nw - Seaworld Area Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing