We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful. Our favorite Mission.”
Review of Mission Concepcion

Mission Concepcion
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
San Antonio Electric Scooter Tour to Mission Concepcion
Ranked #15 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 200-year-old Franciscan mission at the very heart of the Mission Trail was originally built against claims of French colonization.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Our favorite Mission.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's a place that we never tire of visiting. Don't miss it for sure. Been going since 2003. The tour guides are very knowledgeable. We've also taken our homeschool group there a few times. Peaceful. Serene. Authentic.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie Carte... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    219
    48
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“San Antonio Mission”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got there late, after closing at 5pm. Information Center closed. Walked the grounds. Buildings still open, worker said it was okay to take self-guided tour. Cathedral and connecting buildings very old and well preserved. Cathedral altar impressive. Outdoor prayer area of statue extraordinary. Short visit will return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank paha40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This mission is nice but when you have seen one mission, you have seen them all. It is nice and if you have time, go see it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTravelerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Largely self-guided”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The church is quite nice, but this is a largely self-guided tour unless you arrive in time for the guide. There's less to see here than the San Jose Mission, but Mission Concepcion still has its charm, and it's on the way back into town from San Jose Mission, so you'll pass by it anyway.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“My Favorite Mission”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Concepcion was my favorite mission visit. It origined in east Texas in 1731 but was moved to San Antonio. This mission has all the original exterior structure. And, the original interior paintings remain here – albeit the main cathedral has been renovated to bring out the brightness of the original artwork. The acoustics in the cathedral dome compare to that of the Mormon Tabernacle and if you sing a song within these walls you can hear why – very moving and inspirational. I am happy that these missions remain to be a place of worship!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nashville10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Concepcion also viewed

 

Been to Mission Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing