We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #28 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Vidor, United States
1 review
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Upon arrival, we did not know that it was fiesta week in San Antonio. Check-in was fast and easy. We got 3 hot cookies upon heading up to our room. The room we had overlooked the Alamo and it was a great view. Had to call room service for linen for the sofa bed and it was taken care of within 5 minutes. All staff we spoke with were very friendly and personable. This is my 2nd time staying here and will again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Jennifer,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your 2nd visit. It is great to hear that you found our staff both friendly and personable. I will share this feedback with the team. Fiesta this week was extended an additional week. I hope you were able to enjoy the "battle of the flowers" and the "Fiesta Flambeau" parades and experience some of the local food merchants.

We look forward to your 3rd visit.

Best,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    413
    136
    62
    39
See reviews for
381
451
42
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kyle, texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved staying at the Emily Morgan. If you are coming to San Antonio, why not experience all that it has to offer while you are there? It is right next to the Alamo, across the street and down some steps to the RiverWalk and in the very heart of the city of San Antone (as some of us Texans say)! The hotel is old and so very unique. This is the very best room I've ever stayed in, by far!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screensaver0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for a fabulous review. We love our renovated room product with great views of The Alamo and the City. However, nothing beats hearing our guest say that we have the best rooms by far! On behalf of our team, thank you for sharing and declaring that we are "The Best of San Antonio.

See you soon in the Alamo City!

Best,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had booked our room at the Emily Morgan well in advance and had requested an upgrade if one was available. We were very pleasantly surprised to be placed in their premiere suite, the Duke. It was hard to leave the room - or rather apartment. Great view overlooking the Alamo and the attention to detail in the suite was unparalleled. Loved being able to just park the car and forget it as everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Allison,

I am so happy we are able to provide the requested upgrade and its great hearing you enjoyed your stay in our Duke Suite. We will have to have a do-over soon! I will share your feedback with our team.

Warm regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is conveniently across from the very interesting and quintessential Texas historical edifice - the Alamo. Loved our garden tub room, older children and their spouses loved their rooms and we all enjoyed breakfast with our all our family members in town for the big day - lots of omelets and ranchero eggs with Spanish sausages, eggs benedict. Couples loved Riverwalk saloon close enough you didn't need to worry about driving back after two-steppin' and drinking Shiner Bock. Stayed in the hotel bar/lobby 'til 3 a.m. talking with relatives - no one bothered us! Pool has wonderful lap area and is heated to comfortable temp even in cool 64 degree weather! Knowledgeable concierge and other staff. Wonderful room service menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Carol,

Wow!! Please congratulate the Bride and Groom. We are thrilled that you and your family choose to celebrate this special occasion at The Emily Morgan a Doubletree by Hilton. We appreciate that we could take part in this celebration by delivering a great guest experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed our room product, service experience, garden tub and location. I will be sure to give kudos to our front desk, food and beverage teams for creating a memorable visit. It sounds like you also appreciated our central location and great views of The Alamo.

Thank you for such a wonderful review and we look forward to your return to our great city.

Best,

Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was very spacious. The bathroom was nice and spacious. The ability to walk downtown was a big plus. The only downside was the outrageous parking fee of $28 a night. Would I stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saucier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed with my wife and two kids for a few nights last summer. The location of the hotel is great and you can walk to just about anything you would want to do. The Alamo is across the street on one side and the Riverwalk is just across the street on the other. The room wasnt huge but had a great view and the furnishings were all confortable. The only thing that was a little odd traveling as a family was the sliding door into the bathroom, It was a huge door and the whole thing was like frosted glass. So, even though you couldnt see directly through it....you get the idea.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndsoulellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athomps2013, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello sndsoulessis,

Many thanks for taking time to post about your recent visit. It sounds like you were in one of our Alamo views, which overlooks The Alamo. As mentioned, we are walking distant to the riverwalk and other local favorites. Concerning the room feature (frosted door), thanks for the feedback. If you would email me off-line, we can update your profile for future visits.

I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time in The Alamo City!

Best,
Angela T,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My group arrived before check in and the staff was very nice. We were able to check in early. At check in we received warm cookies ( super yummy). The staff was extremely friendly throughout our entire stay. The hotel is within walking distance of all the wonderful attraction San Antonio has to offer.

The only downfall to the hotel was the pool and hot tub. We got into the hot tub and started the bubbles. It had a terrible smell and lots of derby floating. When we told the staff someone was there to fix it within a few minutes.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#27 of 355 in San Antonio
2,322 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,860 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,798 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing