We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Antonio close to Alamo & Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #25 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Extremely convenient location, beautiful building, very helpful staff. Using the valet parking helped a great deal, was economical. The location of the hotel close to the Alamo and Riverwalk made it our choice. The room, overlooking the Alamo, was spacious and the upgrade to that room was economical as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joann S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Art Deco building, the dynamic staff, the great bar, the cool fireplace! Love EVERYTHING about this hotel and the people who work there! Close to the riverwalk, but without the noise and crowds! NIce restaurant with wonderful waitstaff. One of the bellman heard me mentioning a favorite San Antonio restaurant and he brought me a certificate for a free dessert when I dined there that night! It is simply the BEST of San Antonio!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

June D.,
Thank you for your review! We hope that you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here our last pm of Spring Break. Great room with extensive views of the Alamo... The staff definitely honors the company policy of guests first. A DoubleTree tradition of a warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival is always a plus....

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I honestly did think that I was going to end up in a tired, old "haunted" hotel! Boy, was I ever pleasantly surprised. My room overlooked the side of The Alamo and I could watch the visitors and remember the times that I would walk those grounds. Room was nicely decorated, bedding was warm and inviting, bed was firm (just like I like it). Beautiful, over-sized bath/shower combo. Overall, a very nice room

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank rosalieb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hi Rosalieb100,
We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your trip, and even happier that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope that you come back soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is a cool building in a great location next to the Alamo/near the Riverwalk. The rooms were pretty nice. My only complaints were that the pool was pool deck left a lot to be desired, the valet was slow, and there seemed to be an issue the water heater throughout my stay. While I'd strongly consider staying at the hotel again, I'd also certainly also look around to see what other options may be available as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hello Michael M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will address these issues with our team. We are making some changes to outside pool area to get ready for summer. I hope that you will give another chance next time you are in town. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent 3 nights here. Our room was on the ninth floor overlooking the Alamo. The room was a good size, minimal traffic noise with very comfy beds. The staff was all excellent, very friendly and helpful. The only drawback with the room was the door to the bathroom (sink and tub) was a sliding door right next to one of the beds. Not a problem if everyone is up at the same time, however, if one person gets up to shower this will wake the other due to the light an noise. Would have been nice if there was a mini fridge but not a deal breaker. Very nice Doubletree property and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor on the Alamo side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahbbyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Walking distance to shopping and the river walk. Had an awesome view of the Alamo! David the bartender was great and very knowledgable. Not a typical doubletree hotel. Smaller and more personable. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbierdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#23 of 358 in San Antonio
2,583 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,035 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $143 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the Best Boutique Hotel, Most Romantic Hotel and Best Pet Friendly Hotel, official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Historic Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and superb experiences. Our location is steps away from the Alamo and minutes away from the Riverwalk, the Convention Center, the Tobin Center and an easy walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions. Our hotel offers spectacular views of the Alamo and Downtown and all guestrooms and suites offer luxurious accomodations with Premium bedding and luxury robes to help you relax. We offer complimentary high speed internet, HD Televisions and daily newspapers. Our award winning ORO Restaurant offers modern Texas Cuisine and be sure to join us for Happy Hour every night at the Oro Bar. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit in our fitness center. Best of all, every guest is greeted with a warm hello and a complimentary DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing