We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #29 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Art Deco building, the dynamic staff, the great bar, the cool fireplace! Love EVERYTHING about this hotel and the people who work there! Close to the riverwalk, but without the noise and crowds! NIce restaurant with wonderful waitstaff. One of the bellman heard me mentioning a favorite San Antonio restaurant and he brought me a certificate for a free dessert when I dined there that night! It is simply the BEST of San Antonio!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
June D.,
Thank you for your review! We hope that you will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    412
    136
    62
    39
See reviews for
381
449
42
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here our last pm of Spring Break. Great room with extensive views of the Alamo... The staff definitely honors the company policy of guests first. A DoubleTree tradition of a warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival is always a plus....

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I honestly did think that I was going to end up in a tired, old "haunted" hotel! Boy, was I ever pleasantly surprised. My room overlooked the side of The Alamo and I could watch the visitors and remember the times that I would walk those grounds. Room was nicely decorated, bedding was warm and inviting, bed was firm (just like I like it). Beautiful, over-sized bath/shower combo. Overall, a very nice room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank rosalieb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi Rosalieb100,
We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your trip, and even happier that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope that you come back soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is a cool building in a great location next to the Alamo/near the Riverwalk. The rooms were pretty nice. My only complaints were that the pool was pool deck left a lot to be desired, the valet was slow, and there seemed to be an issue the water heater throughout my stay. While I'd strongly consider staying at the hotel again, I'd also certainly also look around to see what other options may be available as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello Michael M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will address these issues with our team. We are making some changes to outside pool area to get ready for summer. I hope that you will give another chance next time you are in town. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent 3 nights here. Our room was on the ninth floor overlooking the Alamo. The room was a good size, minimal traffic noise with very comfy beds. The staff was all excellent, very friendly and helpful. The only drawback with the room was the door to the bathroom (sink and tub) was a sliding door right next to one of the beds. Not a problem if everyone is up at the same time, however, if one person gets up to shower this will wake the other due to the light an noise. Would have been nice if there was a mini fridge but not a deal breaker. Very nice Doubletree property and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor on the Alamo side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahbbyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Walking distance to shopping and the river walk. Had an awesome view of the Alamo! David the bartender was great and very knowledgable. Not a typical doubletree hotel. Smaller and more personable. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbierdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Emily Morgan in San Antonio and spent 6 lovely days. Staff was excellent, the room was quiet and very nice. No noise in the hallways or doors slamming. Just a great place to stay. I recommend using the valet service for your vehicle. They had our car ready and the staff was always very helpful. Doors were always opened and they helped us take items to our hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 254virginiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
254virginiam,
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have you with us for six lovely days. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip. We would love to have you back soon!
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#28 of 355 in San Antonio
2,317 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,855 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,792 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
2,949 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing