We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay was a hit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #27 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United States
1 review
“One night stay was a hit!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed at the Emily Morgan Double Tree and was greeted by a friendly staff and a great room with a view of The Alamo. Room was fantastic with really nice bathroom. AC worked like a charm too. Our room was right next to the elevator but I never heard any foot traffic outside. Made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you Eduardo C,
We appreciate that you took the time to leave us comments on your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and our staff. We will pass this along to the team. Thanks again, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    407
    136
    62
    37
See reviews for
374
439
41
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

If I could, I would rate this hotel a 3 1/2. It was not bad at all. However, it was an odd and occasionally uncomfortable experience.

I had requested a room with a nice view when I made my reservation. Paying more than $200 a night for a room and being high in the Hilton HHonors program, I didn't think that too much to ask. Well we got a king room for sure, but on the back side of the hotel with anything but a nice view. The front desk did move us to another room with 2 queens and a great view. Still why not tell us when we checked in, this room does not have a great view would you prefer 2 queens with that great view, rather than make me lug my luggage to one room and then turn around and go back downstairs to get what I really want.

The hotel does not seem to know what it wants to be. The exterior is elegant old San Antonio which is the type of experience we wanted. The interior, however, is more Vegas than San Antonio. Contemporary furniture (including those infernal wardrobes that now serve as your client). Only sliding doors separate the bathroom (open toilet/shower combo) so little to no privacy. But the best moment yet was when we returned from a pretty lovely laid back San Antonio evening and encountered Michael Jackson singing Pretty Young Thing in this historic hotel lobby.

So, not BAD really, but not a particularly great experience either.

Room Tip: For quiet ask for a room on the back side of the hotel but don't expect any kind of view. View r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend to spend time with family. Loved the Hotel. It is across from the Alamo and within walking distance to anything we wanted to do on or near the river. would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 663jonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

stayed here for a week end with my family
pros- location,room
cons-in room breakfast on both days were terrible,, coffee sucked
one of the nights insted of battling the riverwalk , we decided to come back to the hotel for dinner... what a disaster.. we walked in- no other guests..after almost 1 hour we got the food we ordered.. kids wanted juice .. no juice..servicewas teriiblle... FOOD was horrible.. for it being a double tree hilton..it certainly did not live up to its name

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We loved this place! Great location and access to all the Riverwalk fun and attractions including the Alamo, Ripley's Believe it or Not, etc. Nice and attentive staff. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggy4ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We loved having a room that overlooked the Alamo. The Emily Morgan is a beautiful hotel and the staff was wonderful. I will state that we did have a problem with our thermostat in the room, it didn't work. Unfortunately we didn't realize this until I crawled out from the warmth of our bed to find the kids had had a chilly night. Told the desk, hopefully the next guests have a warmer stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel for two nights and had a great experience. When we arrived we were given fresh baked cookies and polite service. The rooms were great and well kept. The breakfast was good, and overall we had a great time. I also enjoyed the proximity to the Alamo and restaurants.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jkaufman150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#26 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing