We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love the Emily Morgan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel
Ranked #27 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

For location you can't beat it. The people are friendly and want to make sure your stay is a good one. We've stayed at the Emily Morgan the last two times we've been in San Antonio and as far as I'm concerned it will be the only place we'll stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,283 - 1,289 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I booked a conference for 14 Attendees from a global team (Mexico, USA,Germany). The suite we were given was on the 14th floor with a great view and breakfast and afternoon break service.
We did arrange for a group dinner on monday night but the Restaurant was out of several menu items but the food we did order was excellent. The hotel staff was wonderful and adjusted to the numerous last minute changes I had to request due to travel arrangements. On a personal note, I love this hotel. It is a great location, extra large rooms and very comfortable beds. I have stayed here several times so I can 'play tourist' in my own city ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor corner room. The view is incredible and these rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkdmijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great clean rooms, awesome staff! Best location! Right across the Alamo. From the moment we got there the staff was extremely nice. The rooms were nice and clean and were cleaned everyday. Thanks so much for the great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Everything about this hotel is great and convenient to the area, The Alamo is directly across the street (and its free) the shopping starts a block away, The river walk is a fun stroll with about three blocks of shopping and restaurants away and the tower of America is not more then 15 minutes by car away. go to that restaurant too, if you can find the time. We ended it with a carriage ride back to our hotel, it was all fun. Dan

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank DANIEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The stay was great. It was just a single night. We paid extra to have a view of the Alamo outside our window. But the weather wasn't having it. It was so foggy we could barely see the street, much less the Alamo. The room was great. The beds are so very comfortable. The breakfast was very good as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank GIS_Puke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear GIS_Puke,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and breakfast. It's too bad that the weather wasn't cooperating. Let us know when you will be returning and we'll be sure you get an Alamo view that you can actually enjoy this time!
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel was by far one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The furniture, food, atmosphere, and especially the customer service surpassed my expectations (and I am very picky). When I return to San Antonio, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Kameelah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Kameelah R,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that we surpassed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at hotel during a business meeting. Meeting was at the hotel. Hotel staff was great, very helpful and extremely nice. I loved the location looking out over the Alamo. Within walking distance to the Riverwalk. Enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
2,620 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,155 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,292 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $138 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in an atmosphere of history, sophistication, and style when you step foot in the Emily Morgan Hotel. Since its construction 1924, the building that now houses our hotel has been an iconic Texas landmark, hovering majestically over the world-famous Alamo. Take a look at our offerings including upscale guest rooms and suites, an outdoor pool, fitness center, Oro Restaurant and Bar, a Library and Banquet facilities. Our hotel is ideally located just steps from the Alamo and a short walk to the River Walk, River Center Mall, Entertainment Venues many other Downtown offerings. Built in 1924 by famous architect Ralph Cameron, our hotel was originally constructed to be the Medical Arts Building on the Alamo Plaza. The thirteen-story tower features pieces of cast iron, unique ornamentation, and a copper roof with wood ribs. Perhaps the most interesting architectural feature of the building is the array of gargoyles that line the building, each portraying a medical ailment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing