We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #26 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Beauiful, historic hotel with the friendliest staff on the planet. You have direct access to the Alamo and the Riverwalk by simply walking across the street. If you come for the ghosts of this hotel, you won't be disappointed! Nothing scary, just remnants of the past who will remind you every once in a while that they are still there. Come for the history and stay for the comfort!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,358 - 1,364 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is not on the river but it is very close to all the attractions. It sets across the street from the Alamo and is within walking distance to alot of places to eat and drink. Staff was amazing. We go to San Antonio every year in Oct and we have stayed at several other hotels on the river that have been nice but the Emily Morgan is very nice place. I highly recommend this hotel to all. The rooms are really nice and the bathroom has lot of room and we had a hottub in our room which made it nice after walking around all day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was the most awesome experience we could have asked for -- we booked last minute and just happened to pick The Emily Morgan - and could not have been MORE pleased!! The staff was wonderful and the rooms were wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tina2653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel located just across the street from the Alamo. The rooms are nicely decorated and made you feel like you were in Texas. Everyone we had contact with that worked at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Our view was opposite of the Alamo but was a nice view of the city. The pool and hot tub are somewhat small but you are located in the middle of the city and it is a rooftop pool so what do you expect?? The hot tub worked fine when we were there and my wife and I quite enjoyed our evening out by the pool. The area was furnished with comfortable chairs and well stocked with towels. The breakfast we received as hhonors members was very good and the servers were quite accommodating even though we got to breakfast late. When we go back to San Antonio this is definitely where we will stay.

Room Tip: Would be fun to have a room overlooking the Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r440m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear r440m,
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments. I am so happy that you had a nice time out by the pool and that our staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely share this review with the team. Please let us know when you are back in town, and I will see if we can get you that Alamo view!
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first time in San Antonio, and since I have had the pleasure of staying at a Double Tree before we decided to try this one in San Antonio TX. I am glad we made that choice. We arrived on Oct. 20 and departed Oct. 22. At check in I inquired about an upgrade and we were given a very nice room overlooking the Alamo. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to their advice we took a double decker bus tour of the city, a boat tour of the river and a tour of the Alamo. We enjoyed all of the tours and were very pleased that the members of the hotel staff were interested in assisting us during our visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Antonio. Located in the heart of the city it is very convenient to all of the historic sites and there are several very good restaurants nearby. The only problem we encountered was at breakfast on the morning of the 22nd the person waiting on us was rude and gave us the impression that we weren’t welcome. This is the reason that we didn’t give this hotel a higher rating.Being a Diamond Hilton Honors member incidents like this cause travelers to rethink where they book their future reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlee103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Jlee103,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit. We are so pleased that we were able to provide suggestions for tours that you found enjoyable. I sincerely apologize for the problem you encountered at breakfast, and will be sure to address this with the team. Again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you will choose our hotel when you return to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

There is nothing special about this hotel. The view we got was awful (overlooked the top of a building) even though we requested to face the Alamo. The pool/hot tub was small & not working. The staff is not friendly at all. The bar guy was the only one who actually spoke & welcomed you. (and the valet guys)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Hello Valerie K.,
Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry to hear that we did not wow you during your stay. I apologize that you did not receive the view that you requested, however the rooms that view the Alamo are a premium, and it's best to book that type of room so you are guaranteed to receive it when you arrive. Thank you for your comments, we will address these issues with our team. We hope that you will give us another chance when you return to the downtown San Antonio area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Emily Morgan, so I did not know what to expect. From the valet to the front desk, housekeeping to dining room/bar, this was an amazing experience. Everyone is very professional and friendly. The rooms are spacious and unique, with a huge bathroom! We upgraded to a Jr Suite and it was fabulous! Food in the restaurant was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel to someone wanting something more than the typical cookie cutter hotel. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi Pat S.,
Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the junior suite, it does have a great view of the Alamo and the city. We also are happy that you recognize that we are a boutique with our own style and although, we give the Doubletree cookie at check in, we are definitely not "Cookie Cutter" Thanks so much again, come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
2,589 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,040 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $141 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in an atmosphere of history, sophistication, and style when you step foot in the Emily Morgan Hotel. Since its construction 1924, the building that now houses the Emily Morgan hotel has been an iconic Texas landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing