We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #28 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Huffman, United States
1 review
“Emily Morgan”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Short and Sweet summary. You will not be disappointed. I have stayed at the Emily Morgan in the past and each and every experience has been nothing short of excellent. Make sure to try and take advantage of the upgrade option at the time of your reservations as this has proven to be the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    418
    138
    64
    39
See reviews for
388
462
42
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Emily Morgan for two days. We had a very nice stay and loved the location. love the location.
The hotel has recently been updated and the room are nice. The front desk was very efficient. I would stay here again. It is across the street from the alamo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texastravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was fortunate to be upgraded to a suite with my Hilton Honors points-that was a big plus! I recommend the bed & breakfast option-the breakfast buffet exceeded my expectations. The hotel overlooks the Alamo and is very close to the river walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

After taking the Grimm Sisters Ghost Tour we decided to spend ourlast night in San Antonio in the Emily Morgan hotel. The hotel didn't embrace it's ghostly past, they prefer to be known as the official hotel of the Alamo. We did have a wonderful view of the Alamo. The hotel had once been a hospital and they turned the autopsy tables into the lining for the swimming pool. We make sure to take a dip ifyou want you to experience I'm not sure it gets more unique than that. We explored as much as we could without disturbing the other guests. thEmiMorgan doesn't want to be known as a haunted hotel we had a great time nonetheless

Helpful?
Thank Travisr1076
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at this property last weekend, and was pleasantly surprised. A few friends had expressed disappointment and concern that this historic hotel had undergone a transformation to a major hotel brand, but Doubletree has once again proved that it's properties do not fit into a little box, and they can keep a historic hotel with all it's charm, while still maintaining a brand flag. As a Gold Member, I was given a lovely room on a high floor. Though the room was very small compared to modern hotels, but I must say the hotel did a really good job getting everything you needed in the room without it feeling cramped. The staff was very friendly, and with all Doubletree's, the warm cookie welcome is always a nice touch. We had breakfast in the restaurant, and we ordered off the menu. The food was fantastic. The service needs a bit of fine tuning, especially keeping tables cleaned. The restaurant was half empty, but there were no clean tables when we arrived. Valet staff was a bit slow when we needed our car for dinner, albeit friendly during the wait. Overall a great experience, and a perfect location if you're visiting the Alamo and RiverWalk.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Alamo, above the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Location is awesome, staff is friendly and the room was affordable. We were across the street from the Alamo and close to shopping , convention center and the Alamo Dome for UH vs UTSA game. Go Coogs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Best hotel experience in a long time. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Location is perfect right across from the Alamo and a couple of blocks from Riverwalk. Even the restaurant and room service food was great. The room was comfortable and quiet..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#26 of 355 in San Antonio
2,391 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
1,904 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 355 in San Antonio
3,000 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
3,171 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing