We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Alamo, but parking and breakfast is not included”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #28 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view of Alamo, but parking and breakfast is not included”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Was able to check in early and our room looked over the Alamo. Pretty cool building. Walking distance to shops and river walk. Oh and it has a pool and hot tub. The bathtub in the room was huge. Definitely enjoyed relaxing in it with their Crabtree and Evelyn products.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    418
    138
    64
    39
See reviews for
388
462
42
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not right on the river walk but within easy walking distance. It is directly across the street from the Alamo. I had heard it has some issues in the past however it is now a Double Tree and part of the Hilton family. The rooms were clean, but small. They charge for parking at $28 per day. They have a really good breakfast if you are hilton honors member gold or higher.
We got this from a discount sight were you bid on your stay so we were very happy with the value. If we had paid full price maybe not so much. The walls are very thin and we were woke up on Sunday Morning by a family of kids in the swimming pool even though we were on the 7th floor it was still so lound

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't face the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice location. Across the Plaza and walkging distance from the River Walk.We stayed on the 1415. Bathroom like new well equiped
Room super small, nice view of the city. Needs new carpets ASAP. I called housekeeping services for extra blanket and they never show up. Valet parking $$$ but if you park around the corner at the PLAZA PARKING is $15 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the first time at this hotel which is a recent Hilton chain hotel in San Antonio. Location was next to the Alamo and just a block from the River Walk. Everything was very convenient. One special note was that the air conditioner was probably the quietest one I have ever had in a hotel room. My room was the 8th floor for Hilton Honors. I am particularly sensitive to street or road noise and this room was extremely quiet. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice now on business trips to San Antonio. My first room was on the 11th floor, two queens. The room was nice sized, with an amazing bathroom. My second stay was a king room on the 4th floor. This room was very cramped. I'm booked again, hoping to get back up to the spacious room on the 11th floor (or higher, admittedly, I prefer rooms on higher floors). In addition to being small and cramped, the 4th floor king bed room had an incredibly small bathroom. I'm guessing the roo. Good for a man traveling alone, but not for a woman who needs bathroom space....definitely book the double queen! The hotel itself is absolutely gorgious, and very awesome location downtown. One thing I will point out...the valet parking is hit and miss. Valet parking is your only choice, and at $28.00 per night. Choose the parking package, it will save you $8. Both my stays had the exact same experience with the valet parking....some mornings there were half a dozen valets hanging around to take care of everyone, other mornings there may only be one sole valet retreaving everyones cars, so quite a wait. Like I said, hit and miss on the parking. Overall, I love this hotel, wish I had discovered it sooner, and will stay here on all future visits to the area, but will request the two queen room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels in downtown San Antonio. The Emily Morgan is the most lovely. The rooms are perfect in every way. As a local, I have enjoyed appetizers and drinks at the bar, but as a guest I partook in the breakfast buffet. My only advice is go early to the buffet or prepare to be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would definately stay at this hotel again. The location was perfect (right across the street from the Alamo), and only a few blocks from the Riverwalk. The rooms were both nice and unique. The bed was awesome. The service inside of the hotel was excellent. The hotel itself was loaded with San Antonio history, and I found the whole Emily Morgan story to be interesting. I also felt that it was a good value compared to some of the other options that I had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#25 of 355 in San Antonio
2,389 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
1,897 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 355 in San Antonio
3,000 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 355 in San Antonio
3,171 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $35/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing