We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel
Ranked #26 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel is old but renovated. Very clean and quite. Parking will add $30 plus each day plus tips. Ice machine not on every floor and the rooms don't have fridges. You must call and ask if they have any left and if they do they will bring it up to you. Staff was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank fritz_jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,494 - 1,500 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the larger rooms with the whirlpool tub. The room was very spacious and clean, with up to date furnishings. We looked out over the Alamo across the street. One nice detail-- the very large tub has a window that can be opened, and you can look out at the skyline. Obviously there are also privacy shades.

I stay at Hilton properties a lot and the Emily Morgan meets the standard, easily. What impressed me most was the friendly, professional service, from everyone-- the bellman, front desk staff, bartender, restaurant servers. The restaurant was definitely several steps up from a typical hotel restaurant. As mentioned by a prior reviewer, there's a big focus on quality, local/regional foods. The night we arrived, it was 102 degrees and we were dead tired, so we bailed on any exploring and ate at the hotel. It turned out not to be a compromise at all.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If it's a couples trip, spring for the larger room with the whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Pajiko,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is wonderful to share positive reviews with our team. We are so glad that you opted to stay and have dinner with us and delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant, Oro. Also glad that you enjoyed the accomodations, and hope that you had a relaxing soak in the oversized tub in the suites. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed there the weekend of July 26,2013.... Valet on a mainstreet is quite odd... When booking be aware that there is a 75.00 deposit in case of any damages, that upset me because I was not notified at time of reservation... Got the cookies at check in and were yummy! Rooms are ok; bathroom /shower not really "private", sliding door is like a see thru glass window.. No free wi-fi unless u get the higher priced rooms... Rooms can use a mini fridge; Valet sucked at check out; we waited over 30 minutes after the 4th time asking where our truck was we were told that we needed to go back to the front desk; total mess up on their part! I will not stay here again; i prefer the westin next time!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyOrtiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Cindy Ortiz,

I thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed our famous Doubletree chocolate chip/walnut cookies and I do apologize for the issues you encountered while staying with us. Comments, such as yours, truly assist us in improving our product and services and I assure you that I will follow up with the third party valet service to ensure this type of situation does not occur again. I do wish you would reconsider our hotel again the next time you are in the San Antonio area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's right next to the Alamo and near the Riverwalk, but in a spot that is quiet and just off where all the activity is. It is an intimate and friendly hotel. Actually has an outdoor pool. And the restaurant offers locally grown food with regional offerings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel is not on the river walk, but don't let that put you off staying in this amazing hotel, overlooks The Alamo. Every thing about this hotel ticks all the boxes, location, history, style, staff, rooms, beds, breakfast and did I say the staff.

Stayed two nights in corner king room, room was large, clean, wifi that didn't drop out, garden tub in the bathroom. Bed was amazing. Hotel has a pool on the second floor

Breakfast was great.

Some of the most professional and friendliest staff member I have ever come across in a hotel ( shout out to Mariah, Management must be very proud to have you on staff. )

Love this hotel, would go back in a flash. Skip every other hotel in downtown and stay here

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosscoe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas, USA
3
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The bathroom had very little privacy considering one could see right through the sliding glass doors. The room with two queen beds was crowded with each bed being jammed against a wall. Although the bath was beautiful and well appointed, it was more suited to a couple, rather than a family, or two adults simply sharing a room but not wishing to be intimate. The a/c was difficult to set at a comfortable temperature. It never seemed to cycle off and so the only way to get the chill out of the room was to turn the a/c off, then back on again when the room got too warm. The restaurant is way over-priced for what one gets. I had assumed that the desserts were made in the restaurant, but when my daughter bit down on a piece of plastic in her peach gelato, the waiter explained that it was "simply" a piece that had broken off from the lid of the container in which it was delivered. The pool is barely large enough for the name to apply. The parking fee is outrageous and made the total daily rate quite pricey for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments above. Your feedback is valuable to me and my team as they help us identify ways to better our services and amenities so our guests will continue to stay with us time and time again. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered on your stay. We will use your comments as a training tool for our team. Thank you again for taking the time to complete a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We traveled to see the alamo. We had a nice sized suite overlooking the alamo...great view. Let me say I'm not a huge fan of old hotels as its rare to find quality renovation. This renovated hotel was so so. The view was worth it and walking to the alamo was perfect. The staff was great but the hotel was way understaffed...Kinda like The Alamo! Unloading luggage on a busy street with 2 kids sucks! Finally the bellman, doorman, concierge arrived. Yep! Those were all his job! No fresh cookies at check in for the kids. But again SUPER friendly people. Restaurant food was ok but I think better options are within walking distance. We loved the view but won't return.

Room Tip: Ask for or book Alamo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Destin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie N, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Destin,
We appreciate your staying with us and your candid comments above. Thank you for recognizing the effortsof our staff to be friendly and accomodating. I am very sorry that you experienced issues with the valet service and cookies. We were at high volume and unfortunately missed in some areas when you were here. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and the view and do hope that you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
2,721 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#16 of 358 in San Antonio
2,122 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,215 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $160 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in an atmosphere of history, sophistication, and style when you step foot in the Emily Morgan Hotel. Since its construction 1924, the building that now houses our hotel has been an iconic Texas landmark, hovering majestically over the world-famous Alamo. Take a look at our offerings including upscale guest rooms and suites, an outdoor pool, fitness center, Oro Restaurant and Bar, a Library and Banquet facilities. Our hotel is ideally located just steps from the Alamo and a short walk to the River Walk, River Center Mall, Entertainment Venues many other Downtown offerings. Built in 1924 by famous architect Ralph Cameron, our hotel was originally constructed to be the Medical Arts Building on the Alamo Plaza. The thirteen-story tower features pieces of cast iron, unique ornamentation, and a copper roof with wood ribs. Perhaps the most interesting architectural feature of the building is the array of gargoyles that line the building, each portraying a medical ailment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing