We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“2 queen room was spacious and upgrades.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #25 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2 queen room was spacious and upgrades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Convienent location to river walk attractions. Good happy hour. Large bathrooms and comfy beds. Room service was prompt.
Located a stones throw from the Alamo, trolly, Rivercenter Mall, and all river walk restaurants.

Negative- $28/day valet parking or $22/ day self park.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hollie R,

I couldn't have said it better myself! Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    344
    111
    51
    26
See reviews for
307
358
34
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The restaurant's food was very good, and the server offered a free dish due to slow service (the restaurant was busier than expected mid-week). Each member of the staff was helpful, and the rooms have been nicely remodeled since my last stay there. Being able to take advantage of the HHonors benefits is a nice addition to this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Jonathan E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry we were a bit behind in the restaurant, but I am glad you enjoyed the food. I think our Chef Chris Cook, is the best in the city, hands down.

Please come back and see us the next time you are in San Antonio.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our overall stay at the hotel was a good one. The front desk and restaurant/bar staff were great and very helpful. The hotel itself is very beautiful, great decor...etc. The location is great, especially since it's right next the Alamo which I personally found very neat. The only reason I didn't give them an excellent review was the size of the room. We were placed in a very small room, I thought for the price it was a little too small. So take caution, double check the size of the room you get.

Room Tip: Check the room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roja73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Roja73,

Being an Iconic building with immense historical importance does mean that our footprint by room varies. I would wholeheartedly recommend our larger king rooms with a sofa/sleeper, or our double bedded rooms, which are both quite large in scale to your typical cookie cutter hotel rooms.

Thank you for staying with us, and we are all glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson'
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The staffs are very professional, appearances are well kept. Loved the hotel room, the facility is definitely top of the line. And the location is excellent, right next to the Alamo, and few blocks away from the river side walk. Great place to stay. I am totally happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
youngcats,

We are all very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!! It is a pleasure coming to work every day in such a unique and special hotel. Not only are the gang well, dressed, but we have the happiest associates in our company per our survey!

Ya'll come back and see us soon.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel and room were very nice however the overall experience was ruined by the the way we were treated by Nathan at check -in. Our hotel was paid in full before check -in. Nathan was rude and told us unless we showed him documentation he was charging us again. Our car was already parked and had to wait at least 15 minutes for a valet to return to get our keys. I gave Nathan our paperwork and he rolled his eyes, handed it back and asked for my credit card for incidentals. I asked if there was a manager I could talk to and he said he was it and mumbled something else my husband and I could not understand. I then check my bank account the next morning ( after a night of no sleep because the AC did not work) only to see that Nathan charged us the exact same amount for our room again. $400.00 off my card total! I call the hotel back because we have have already left and they say they will take care of it and call me within the next couple hours when the charges have been reversed.I am still waiting on that call and for the charges to be reversed. Also have a call into the General Manager,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Christy D,

I want to apologize for the experience you had with our hotel. It is so unfortunate when we all work so hard every day, to have one associate lack the emotional intelligence needed to deliver beyond expectations.

Please give me a call on my cell phone at 210 865-7853 when you have a moment, as I really would like to personally apologize for our associates behavior, and get you back here and do it right.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked into the Emily Morgan with some friends for a quick visit to San Antonio. We were delighted with the property, the cleanliness, and the location. It was great to stay in a place with a little architecutral charm, too. We appreciated that it was right across from the Alamo and was just a few minutes from the Riverwalk. Only complaint is that our air conditioning didn't work very well and our room was too warm. We did mention it to the desk, but it didn't seem like anything was done to get it to work. Parking is quite expensive, so keep that in mind if you are comparing costs with other properies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
MacL,

I agree, it is a great hotel. Thank you for sharing the information on your air conditioner. We have taken it apart, and repaired it, and we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience.

We appreciate your staying with us, and thank you for posting your comments here.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is a very spirited place. If you are adventurous, then book a room in this hotel.
Overall, the beds are extremely comfortable; the bathroom is not very private and the service providers were helpful.

Room Tip: If you want to seek extra attractions, book a room on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Michele F,

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking time to share your experience. Our 14th floor is actually in the roof line with unique windows, angled exterior walls, and are very special hotel rooms. These rooms are our larger king rooms, with sofa sleepers, and some of my favorite in the hotel.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Menger Hotel
#34 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,267 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $30/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 3:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing