We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel in the Middle of Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #25 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Emily Morgan for the first time after visiting Downtown San Antonio for over 30 years. My husband was quite fond of the warm chocolate chip cookies we received at check in. I booked the room online, and requested the corner suite. It was a nice room with a living area and a large jacuzzi tub. I especially liked the dressing table area that was separate from the rest of the bathroom. Although I called to ask about the privacy of the room with all it's windows, we noticed, as we walked outside, one CAN see into the bathroom, so keep the shades closed! The bed was comfortable, the couch/hide-a-bed was adequate for our son. We made use of the small refrigerator and bar sink. There was plenty of storage cabinets and drawers. The jacuzzi tub was also a nice touch, but we found out after going to bed it was a self-cleaning jacuzzi, and is rather loud! It kept turning on several times for about an hour after we used it.
I saw where another guest's review commented on the elevator situation, so I will, too. There were two or three school groups staying at the hotel at the same time, and we had a difficult time getting on the elevator, being that each time the door opened, it was packed with kids. Also, we found out that some of them thought it great fun to ride it up and down, pushing all the buttons. Perhaps hotel security could be tightened up a bit when these large groups are in house. We gave up and took the stairs (dirty and scary) and ended up in the kitchen!
The outside of the hotel is very interesting architecturally. The lobby is well appointed and there are displays of artifacts from old San Antonio featured throughout. Situated across from the Alamo, the street in front of the hotel was busy, but the double paned windows helped block out noise.
Overall a nice stay, and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner suite for a larger room and great bathroom, and view. The higher floors will offe...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasLibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

TexasLibraryLady,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your comments. I agree it was tough with the groups to get on and off the elevators. We are renovating our stairwells, but we are not all the way there yet, as you noticed...

Your experience is not typical of the hotel with our elevators. They are actually new, and cutting edge technology, but with the amount of group, we were overwhelmed. That said, we don't typically do group like that, and moving forward, will not be creating this experience for our guests.

We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
There are newer reviews for The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,509 - 1,515 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The room was immaculate. Service of the staff was on point of the duties. Their kindness was very much appreciated and added comfort to my stay. I had a beautiful view of downtown and an overlook of a beautiful garden with palm trees. White horse carriages awaited across the street for romantic rides throughout the day and evening. This will definitely be the only hotel in San Antonio I make reservations at.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelG25Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

MelG25Austin,

So I have to agree, the Alamo grounds are absolutely fantastic! It really is special around here at night with the carriages lit up across the street, in front of the Alamo wall.

Thanks for sharing your comments, and for recognizing the teams efforts, I will make sure I pass that along to the folks here.

C'mon back anytime!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Emily Morgan during a music convention as it was the hotel where my daughter's performance choir was staying. I was expecting musty and old fashioned but the property has been recently updated and was decorated in an airy, Texas chic style. The staff at the bell desk and check-in were all consistently helpful. We ate in the Oro restaurant onsite a couple of times and were pleased with the menu variety and pricing. The best thing the hotel offers aside from its historical vantage is the superb location next to the Alamo. It was extremely central to be able to get to locations on the Riverwalk, at the convention center and all the surrounding activities. The only downside I have to comment on is regarding the elevators. I understand we were staying there when the elevators were inundated with large groups at times, but they seemed to have an out of date programming logic in making sure they went to each floor efficiently. Otherwise I would say that we did not regret the premium price point for this hotel.

Room Tip: Fun to take the carriage rides at night around the city and you can pick them up right across the st...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVlgFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

HVlgFam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. I think your description nailed our designers vision, so gotta love that.

Sorry about the elevators. We typically don't, and will not moving forward, do such large groups as to inconvenience our guests. For that, I am truly sorry.

Thanks for choosing us here in San Antonio as your home away from home.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to South Padre Island. We chose it because we had a small dog with us, and it popped up online as pet friendly. What a lucky choice, as this is a wonderful place. Everyone was so friendly and our ninth floor room was absolutely beautiful and spacious. We used room service for dinner and breakfast, so that we wouldn't have to leave a barking dog to annoy others, and the food was delicious. It was convenient for a stroll on the Riverwalk and we loved looking out at the carriages on the street below, as well as at The Alamo. The beds were fantastic and I am trying to convince my husband that we need one at home now!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinsfan117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Twinsfan117,

Hope you had fun in Padre it really is a beautiful place! I'm glad you were able to try our Chef' Chris Cook's amazing food. ORO is one of the best parts of the hotel, and we are all very proud of his perfomance this season on Anne Burrell's show on the Food Network, Chef Wanted.

Ya'll come on back anytime your in San Antonio.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent services, friendly staff, clean hotel and great location gave us a great experience and pleasant stay. During our 3-day stay, we were constantly surprised by the service provided by the staff from the room upgrade during check-in, to the free breakfast room service just because it was 5 minutes later than quoted. Will definitely plan on returning to this hotel on future trips!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

JZohar,

Thank you for being our guest, and for your very kind words about the team, and our service delivery. We really do work hard at it, and are tops in our brand!

Sorry for the room service delivery being behind, that's not typical for us, as you can see by our efforts to make it right.

We really do appreciate your taking the time to share your experience.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Upon arrival (1:30) we were greatly warmly greeted by the bellman and informed that our rooms were not quit ready. Not a problem! We checked in our bags and were off to enjoy the beautiful weather.
When we returned at 6 to check in we learned from a very hostile and clearly aggravated front desk attendant that only one of our rooms was ready and it would be 30-45 minutes before our second room would be ready. Again, not a problem. We took our cookies and sat in the lobby and waited and chatted with others who had been patiently waiting for 2 hours for their room!! After 45 minutes we returned to ask if our room was ready and this time a hotel manger informed us that house keeping was behind and we like everyone else would have to wait. Needless to say this did not sit well. How is this my fault that you are 3.5 hours past check in and our room is still not available?! A few strong words were exchanged and magically a room became available.

Upon arrival in one of our rooms it was clear that housekeeping was most defiantly behind and cutting corners. The room was thrown together and the towels had long black hairs attached to them and a/c unit wasn't working properly. The front desk was in no way apologetic but finally sent up new towels and someone to fix the a/c.

They are either understaffed or in need of a hospitality staff attitude adjustment. It's truly a shame that such a beautiful place can be tainted by less than enthusiastic team members. Their only saving grace is the location, the friendly bartender, and the awesome bellman.

Defiantly not worth the money. :(

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dottie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dottie1210,

You couldn't have titled it any better. Believe me this is not how we typically perform. We had a really bad day... We had too much group, that all checked out late, and we just couldn't get the rooms ready in a timely, and detailed manner.

I accept full responsibility for our really weak performance, and whole heartedly apologize for the wait, the mediocre service, and the lack of attention to detail on cleanliness. We actually are in the top ten in the DoubleTree by Hilton brand in cleanliness scoring, and take great pride in our cleanliness efforts.

No other way to say it, we blew it, and for that we all apologize.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Emily Morgan, our friendly haunted hotel, was a pleasure to stay at... Nick and Angel, front desk managers, are top notch in their field. The hotel is lovely, super clean, chic, and quiet. We were treated with care and warm delicious cookies- from the moment we drove up, the staff is very attentive and goes the extra mile for everyone. We were not special- we watched all treated kindly. The hotel is purportedly haunted- that was fun! Google the history of this beautiful hotel. It's architecture is stunning, is situated next to the Alamo, and a few blocks from the River Walk.
The best restaurant around for authentic Mexican food is Rosario's. ask for directions.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious. 7th and 9th floor are haunted! Enjoy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mng1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

mng1987,

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel, and our friendly ghosts. I agree, I do love me some Rosarios!!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,976 reviews
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,484 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,218 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,108 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $159 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $39/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing