We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresented Hotel...”
Review of The Fairmount

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmount
Ranked #200 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
A TripAdvisor Member
Manhatten, NY
15
Reviewed November 21, 2005

When I called to make a change to my reservation, the hotel desk staff was incredibly rude and seemed totally confused. I travel quite a bit for my job and have stayed at many "boutique" hotels around the world. This service is what I would expect at a Motel 6, but not from 175/night "luxury" hotel. Needless to say, I am cancelling my reservation.

Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2005

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, but service is an issue. I wasn't able to check in until 6:30 the night I arrived. When I mentioned the next day to the concierge that some of the controls didn't work on my tv remote, he told me that no one ever uses them anyway. (I'm serious!) I received a wake up call at 6 one morning - I'd not requested one, and didn't have to get up until 8. I parked my car very briefly, and specifically requested it not be valet parked since I'd be returning shortly. I was assured that wouldn't be a problem, came back, and my car was gone. And the response was always an automatic and insincere sounding, "I'm sorry". For $175/night? No.....not even as beautiful as it is.

Stayed: October 2005
4  Thank jcarol1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Naperville, IL
17
Reviewed June 11, 2005

.. and I have stayed at dives in third world countries. Oh, it looks nice and has that "historic" feeling, but that masks what a total piece of crap this place is. First off, no food. The hotel kitchen was only open ONE DAY the whole time I was there. Forget about breakfast. Morning coffee? Well, there's some coffeeshops a few blocks away. I'm not joking. $19/day valet parking? Returned to me with bird crap and dirt all over my car. Stunning. How they can charge over $100/night for what is basically a hostel with antiques in it is amazing. Forget about working in your room, road warriors, it's designed to be as difficult as possible to get the internet and power hooked up to your notebook. The maid popped in on me one morning at 8:10am still in bed. The sad story just keeps going on.

Seriously, I was ready to switch to a motel 6 after a couple of days in this dump. By the way, this is NOT the St. Anthony (as one reviewer apparently thought), which IS a Wyndham Historic hotel. Wyndham apparently dumped this trash heap, a wise move.

Save yourselves! ANYWHERE but the Fairmount in San Antonio. The Menger looked nice, and is cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Tx
19
Reviewed October 31, 2004

Thumbs down!!! The OWNER went to valet park my truck ($17 a night and NOT optional) and left tire marks about 50 feet long outside the hotel and was standing there to witness this!!!! Sevrice was horrible, check-in was @ 3:00 PM and @ 3:30 they tell me it will be another hour before I can Have a room. I would NEVER stay @ this place again and advise everyone else to stay away!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Malvern, Pennsylvania
16
Reviewed October 4, 2004

Two months in advance, I booked three rooms through our Corporate travel agent and received written confirmation. San Antonio was the sight of a national medical association meeting. Three weeks in advance, I called the hotel to substitute a name for one of the bookings. The clerk informed me that she only had one of the three reservations and that the confirmation numbers were incorrect. A follow up call by the travel agent accomplished nothing. This was gross ineptness of the highest order.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 29, 2004

Certainly its age remains apparent despite the restoration, but if you enjoy staying somewhere with character rather than sterile or ostentatious, this is a great stay. It's more like a bed and breakfast without the obligatory group breakfast. The staff were all as attentive and helpful as we have seen anywhere. The building has such character. It's not on the Riverwalk, but just a very brief walk there--one complaint I read about being far from everything likely emanated from the fact you do have the feeling that you are away from it all even though you aren't. Hemisfair Park is right across the street and that end of the R'walk is a pleasant walk thru the park of less than a mile, while the restaurant end is even closer in the other direction. If you want character, service, and a little distance btwn you and the R'walk, watch for a discount offering on this place.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed April 30, 2004

I stayed two nights at the Fairmount. My room was the best I ever had (including many stays at 4* before), large and airy and stylish, and the hotel generally had an absolutely wonderful old style ambience. I have already forgotten that the carpets could have been cleaner and that the breakfast had good quality but not a good price/quality ratio.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
#70 of 357 in San Antonio
822 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#29 of 357 in San Antonio
528 reviews
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount

Address: 401 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $162 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmount 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, European-style hotel built in 1906 and located on San Antonio's River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmount Hotel San Antonio
Fairmount San Antonio
Fairmount Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing