We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good exercise with a beautiful view”

San Antonio Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half Day San Antonio Evening Grand Historic Tour
Ranked #11 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wide range of plants from Texas and around the world spread out over 33 acres.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good exercise with a beautiful view”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My BFF, my 13 year old daughter, and myself went here on a nice Saturday. Not too hot. If it is too hot outside when you go, there are air conditioned area's in order to cool off. They have a circle around a lake with feedable turtles, fish and ducks. You can walk into old houses and see how they used to be built in a few different ways. There is a beautiful rose garden and a butterfly garden, there were hundreds of butterflies. There is a Chinese Tea Garden, and a Trail for the blind that has things that they can touch and feel. There is the greenhouse area that has 4 different area's. Right now they are having a Savage Garden exhibit where you can see the different Carnivorous Plants: Venus Flytrap, Pitcher Plant, Trumpet Plant, and Sundew. There are also 4 sculptures of the Carnivorous plants. This is an all around awesome place. No complaining from the daughter except that her feet towards the end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    256
    46
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a beautiful and serene place”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Visited this beautiful place in February 2013 so it was perfect weather. What a lovely place! Definitely a great way to spend a day in beautiful San Antonio!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love this place and come back to it again and again every time we come to San Antonio”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

So beautiful peaceful interesting and well kept.
there are so many places to look at and it is all set out so beautifully

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
Level Contributor
181 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We wanted to break up our days on the Riverwalk, so one day we went to the Gardens. Pretty large, we didn't see all of it. The Halloween scarecrows were so darn cute. The exhibit I really liked the best was on water saving landscaping for the front yard. They had the cutest itsy bitsy houses and each one was landscaped beautifully. I picked the one with the front porch for my own.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joanmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must see on a trip to San Antonio”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The gardens were wonderful. The pathways are easy to enjoy and the various types of buildings that were represented by the various areas of Texas were enjoyable. If you have time, please be sure to catch lunch at the Bistro right on sight at the gardens. The food is wonderful and reasonably priced too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing