We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore, especially the Texan Native Trail”

San Antonio Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Half Day San Antonio Afternoon Grand Historic Tour
More Info
$109.00*
and up
San Antonio: The Grand Historic City Tour
More Info
$140.44*
and up
Alamo and San Antonio Quarry Helicopter Tour
Ranked #12 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wide range of plants from Texas and around the world spread out over 33 acres.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to explore, especially the Texan Native Trail”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is a great Botanical Garden, considering how hot and dry San Antonio can be in the spring and summer.
There are a number of exhibits in the way of open gardens (rose garden, the garden for blind and more), Lucile Hall conservatory buildings housing tropical and desert plants and a Japanese garden.
Get lost in time along the Texas Native Trail as you explore wildflowers and plants on your own. You come across flocks of duck and geese, models of old settlement homes complete with wells.
There is something for everyone. People looking for a leisurely stroll among flowers, people looking to learn more about nature or for adventure seekers with the little hike along the trail.
There is a restaurant near the entrance, though I have not tried it, but I hear good reviews about it. There is a pretty gift shop, though overpriced as can be expected in such places.
March/April may be the best time to visit as anytime after May becomes unbearably hot!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SATravelGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    259
    47
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boerne tx
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“beautiful relaxation”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

it a beautiful arrangement of plants and flowers in a relaxing setting sort of an escape from the city i always feel at ease there and its free

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank duane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful sanctuary”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Though not everything was in full bloom when we visited here in February, we still enjoyed touring the gardens. They are beautiful and diverse. There is a great deal to see and learn about.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascocita, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Blooming Beauties!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful gardens for a peaceful stroll. Botanical Gardens are divided into different areas to show the different types of plants that grow in the San Antonio area. Has a great pond with lots of hungry fish to feed...fish food is available for 25 cents from a gum ball machine. Save some time for the gift shop...great selection.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeachnTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've only been to a few small botanical gardens so I greatly appreciated the magnificence of the botanical gardens in San Antonio. We made reservations for brunch at the Carriage House and went early on a Sunday, we strolled the rose garden while waiting for the restaurant to open and then after a marvelous breakfast we took in the rest of the park. What a feast for the eyes. Loved all of it. Take advantage of the many gorgeous and shaded trails and get some nature therapy! If you have little one go to the right around the lake finishing at the duck feeder.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing