We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alamo IMAX Theatre

Alamo IMAX Theatre
Ranked #8 of 71 Fun & Games in San Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the legendary Alamo: The Price of FreedomThe crystal clear images and wraparound sound of IMAX thrills in a way no ordinary theatre can. Six stories high & 83 feet wide, the screen pulls you in!Experience the legend of the Alamo at IMAX prior to visiting the Alamo shrine- see Alamo: The Price of Freedom on the giant screen.The theatre complex also boasts an IMAX 3D screen playing the latest hits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Jewett, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Saw the new Star Trek movie. I have to say, even with a large group of high school kids there, it was a very pleasurable experience

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nuttyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    88
    39
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DOVER
Level Contributor
395 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Great movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

You have to watch the Alamo movie before you go to the Alamo, it was awesome, and im not into history1 My whole family loved it and when we went to the Alamo we could connect with what we had watched!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful family experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a fantastic introduction to the Alamo. The quality of the film and stereo sound is exceptional, with interesting Alamo artifacts in the lobby and gift store too. The kids really loved this movie, as did my husband and I. This movie made the Alamo so much more interesting and meaningful to the kids, as they had a better understanding of what really happened. I highly recommend this attraction!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to see Star Trek: Into Darkness on a recent Sunday afternoon. For the first 10 minutes of the film, the dialog was completely drowned out by the music track. Then both dialog and the music track went dead, and then it was possible to make out most of the dialog if one listened carefully. Maybe this was rare event, but this will be the only time we go to this IMAX. Had we been offered some kind of compensation as we were leaving I probably would have written a different review.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astro78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“All walking distance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

While on the Riverwalk, we decided we wanted to see the new Tom Cruise move just released.... so we walked to the IMAX, left our two 20-somthing daughters shoppin in the mall where the IMAX is located, and we enjoyed the movie! Then we just walked back to the Riverwalk, walking right past the Alamo we had visited earlier that day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForFutureTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo IMAX Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Alamo IMAX Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing