We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Important Military Site”
Review of Fort Sam Houston

Fort Sam Houston
Ranked #102 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum detailing the history of the military in San Antonio.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“An Important Military Site”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I lived on Fort Sam Houston for many years. Its history goes way back, and it is now the medical training headquarters for the Army, Navy, and Air Force. The base is loaded with historic buildings, and the Army Medical department Museum. The Fort Sam Houston museum has a great collection of old military pictures, equipment and hardware going way back. It is more difficult to get on the base now due to security, but it can be done. Allow a few hours.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

A good site to teach a bit of history. Peacocks wander the grounds and plenty of docents around to share stories and answer questions.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cappuccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“SPOTLESSLY CLEAN HISTORIC BASE”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We're military and have seen lots of bases. We especially love the old red tile roofs.

Helpful?
Thank 05MAK05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is an Army Post. What can I say? They mess up everything. Traffic management is terrible starting with the off base entrance route, and then made worse once on post. Even before the renovations, their system was only designed to hinder motor traffic!

Helpful?
Thank zellnerje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Different things to see”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

If you are from out of town and have limited time, then pass. But if you have extra time and want to do something for free, then do it. There are signs off of I35 telling you to get off. It is off Walters Street and when you come to the base you have to go over to the right hand side for the visitors entrance. Anyone over 16 years old must show some sort of official picture ID. I was kind of nervous the first time we did it. But really it is a piece of cake and the guard will tell you where to go if you need directions. I talked about the Quadrangle in that review and have pictures posted there. That is the most kid friendly thing to do. We also visited the Fort Sam Houston Museum. It was the history of the base going back to the mid 1840s. Lots of history, uniforms, equipment, arms and flags. The building was old and small. I think they are building a bigger place. It was okay. There is also the U.S. Army Medical Department Museum. Showing the humanitarian side of the military. The base is primarily for medical purposes. And this museum deals with all that. This museum was actually very good and the kids like it. Lots of uniforms, equipment and vehicles. It was interesting to see how technology has changed and how so many procedures today were developed on the battlefield. There are also various events on the base throughout the year you may want to check out.

Visited May 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Sam Houston also viewed

 

Been to Fort Sam Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing