We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Theatre”
Review of Majestic Theatre

Majestic Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Executive Downtown San Antonio Segway Tour
Ranked #7 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1929, this movie theater is beautifully ornate, featuring a domed ceiling painted with stars and clouds.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Majestic Theatre”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife, daughter & I went to see "Phantom of the Opera" at the Majestic Theatre in San Antonio. It was an awesome production. The theatre is very intimate. It seats about 2300 people. It's a National Historic Landmark & the 2nd largest movie theatre in the nation. We love going to this theatre. I know you will too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennyburd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    174
    32
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spontaneous Surprise”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After checking in at our hotel we went for an evening stroll to to check out the area. As we walked past the Majestic Theatre we noticed many people going in. The box office is right beside the theater. Huey Lewis and the News was playing in 20 minutes. We got tickets and went in. The place is magnificent. So different from theaters in Ohio. A real south west feel. There seemed to be something going on there every night. A great evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most amazing building I've seen”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Of course you go for a show otherwise you cannot get in. But the interior of this magnificent bld is an amazing array of Rococo, Grecian and whatever architecture with a very "blue sky", white peacocks, carvings galore. It is a marvel and worth the trip just to see the building. ONE man is responsible for the upkeep of all the carvings, statues, lights etc. Wow

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DylanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful, unique, eclectic!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Majestic Theater is one of the best hidden jewels of San Antonio. Multiple local, national and international functions are offered throughout the year. Given it's size every seat is a great seat! This theater is a "must-see" place when visiting San Antonio!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PPG_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Escorted in for a peek”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went to take a peek inside the theatre and a San Antonio Police officer stopped us. We thought we were in trouble but he took us in and gave us a very informative tour of this beautiful old theatre. Very beautiful and historic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Majestic Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Majestic Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing