We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Splashtown

Splashtown
Ranked #105 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Splashtown is 20 acres of Family Water Park fun featuring 40 watersides, the 1/2 million gallon wave pool, the 1/4 mile long Siesta Del Rio, the Crystal Falls activity pool with slides, lily pads and water basketball. A large Kid's Cove with 16 slides just for our smaller guests, along with water and beach volleyball and more! Conveniently located just 3 minutes North of downtown San Antonio with Free parking. Open seasonally.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Coming from the crowded state of New York, it was very enjoyable to go to a water park that does not have a 30 min or longer wait for a ride. The price was cheap, much cheaper than the other water parks in the area which is why we chose to go to this park over the others. It has a variety of rides for all ages. Yes it is a little old looking but all the rides were great. The park was very clean and so were the bathrooms which was a big plus. The were only a few times that we had to wait on a line and it was for 5 minutes. The staff was friendly and the lifeguards were very attentive. The food was not expensive to me.. I have had to pay much more for a cheeseburger in NY. The lazy river and wave pool were nice and refreshing and it overall was a great day. If I am ever in the San Antonio area, I would definitely come back here instead of paying triple the price for an overcrowded water park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Smc4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    15
    12
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great family water park. Wasn't to crowded for the kids. Lines were short. Will go back again. The only problem was the cashier when we got there. He over charged us again. Samething as last year mess up when we went then. We were pretty upset but didn't wanna stand in line again to get it corrected. So we just went on with it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap and well worth the trip”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Getaway from the big guys and try Splashtown in San Antonio. Just a stones throw off the highway Northeast of downtown. Don't stay at any hotels near Splashtown. It's more located in a Industrial area. No crowds anytime you go during open season. They do have offers online and through some local stores. Pack some food and drinks and enjoy spending some time at their picnic area. You can also purchase food/drinks onsite and really not that expensive. Lockers are reasonable and showers bathrooms were clean. There are some shade areas but you need to get there early. Cabanas are available but not worth the expense. Great water rides, wave pool and lazy river. They do have special movie nights on he wave pool shown on a big screen setup. Basketball and volleyball courts to sweat away and jump back in the water are offered. Staff is young but that's usual summer jobs. Safety team was excellent and security onsite. Nice water area with attractions for the little ones and those with big hearts. Splashtown is small and easy to get around and well worth the money spent. Getaway from the big guys and support the small ones...enjoy Splashtown!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank daysofthunder0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After a 5 hour trek from Dallas, we needed a place to cool off for a few hours. Splashtown had a good variety of slides for all interests and best of all ... NO lines!! It's location on the I35 was also a major plus for us since it saved about 45 mins of commute time!

The facilities were generally clean although a bit faded, with rust evident on a few of the stairways. On the down side, the "sno-cone bees" were a bother at the trash cans, and one of my daughters actually got stung by one when we were at the lounge chairs. Fortunately no allegeric reactions!

The staff were pleasant. And the regular rotation of the lifeguards gave me the assurance that they were able to maintain focus.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boops157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waterpark Ok, but.....”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Ok, you never expect these type of places to have decent food even at their inflated prices, but their unsanitary conditions with insects is unforgivable. Where they were vending "food" bees were swarming and even stung one of their employees. Drinks are served without plastic lids and the bees fly into your drink. I would choose some other waterpark than this location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank garowe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splashtown also viewed

 

Been to Splashtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing