We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“texas roadie work trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #128 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed March 3, 2012

like the area in downtown... acess off to thru-way great .came with fridge microwave stove tv. just nice great bed felt like being at home since I had to spend 17 days there for work purposes but really enjoyed!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days in early January 2012. I think this is a great spot if you need a suite with a full size refrigerator, cooktop & dishwasher. The studio suite also comes with crockery, cutlery and pots and pans etc. The bed was queen size and there was also a reclining chair and a desk. The TV was a 32in flat panel. The wifi was fast and reliable.

I get the feeling that this is a long-stay hotel where they have guests who stay for weeks and even months at a time. I also think many guests have pets.

My room was extremely clean and the bathroom is quite large. The shower in my bathroom was not that good - the water pressure was low.

I did not choose this place because of its location to downtown so was not bothered about the distance from there. I got the feeling from driving around that it would be about a 20 minute walk from the hotel to somewhere like Riverwalk. However, it is extremely close to the interstate so you can get onto it easily.

Food wise, there is a McDonalds nearby but I didn't really spot anything else. There is a post office half a block away.

I found the staff generally friendly and helpful with one exception. One of the reception desk staff was decidedly unfriendly which stood out because everybody else was the opposite. I am not sure why a hotel would have such a person on their front desk.

There was a laundry with washers and dryers which were free of charge. This was extremely useful for me. There is also a small fitness room next door with a multi-gym, treadmill and bike.

All-in-all a good place to stay if you need more than just a room. Just a shame about that one member of staff. If he wasn't there I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room down the corridor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I like the central location and the ease of getting on and off I-10 in San Antonio, the Staff is good and the rooms are very nice. The prices are very reasonable for the quality

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at Candlewood Suites for 12 days this holiday. The hotel is easy to find and although not walking distance to any suites it's very close to the highway. Parking is free and there are always plenty of spaces. As an extended stay hotel, your sheets are changed weekly and the room is vacuumed on the same schedule. However you bed is made daily and fresh towels are provided. The room is outfitted with dishes, glassware, pots and a dishwasher, microwave and cooktop plus free internet. The workout room is adjacent to the laundry room, very convenient. The room is a little small but very confortable although, the bathroom is very large.

Room Tip: If you can take a room with two beds you might get a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DownsizerNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were travelling with kids to San Antonio and had 3 nights here and found the hotel to be excellent. Firstly location - it was very close to town so only took 5min by car to get to anywhere we wanted to go. Unfortunatly though it is not really walking distance to any take out etc. for breakfast. We wandered out one morning and struggled to find something in walking distance. In saying this - they do have a pantry of sorts where you can get snacks/breakfast foods and you have a kitchen so it wasn't a real issue. The laundry complimentary laundry facilities were wonderful for some catch up washing & the staff were very helpfull with anything we needed. The room itself was spotlessly clean but a little on the smaller side than what we had been staying in. Some noise from people treading upstairs but nothing loud enough to interrupt sleep. Great choice so close to town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have stayed in rooms all over country and this motel is a great place to stay. Good people, clean rooms and quiet. Only downside is it's not really within walking distance of anything. I have booked rooms for co-workers and they were impressed as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Covey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is an excellent motel for extended stays. The suites with all the kitchen amenities are very nice.

Good people, quiet and always clean with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Covey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 358 in San Antonio
516 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,156 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 1024 S Laredo St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $94 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites San Anotonio Downtown is the newest extended stay, all suites hotel in the River Walk area. The 96 suite hotel is conveniently located just off of I-35 at the S. Alamo Street exit. Featuring the finest in hospitality and accommodations,, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located just minutes from the River walk and near restaurants, shopping and many attractions. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high speed internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy multi-channel premium TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat panel Television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24 hours a day. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the San Antonio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing