We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cool setting!”

The Guenther House Museum
Ranked #34 of 227 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Majestic home belonging to the founders of the Pioneer Flour Mill.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

We went to Guenther House for breakfast and man was it great! We had the pancakes and the waffles and both lived up to our expectations. The other food we saw looked really good too! The grounds were beautiful and helped pass the wait to get seated.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kurtiswh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 93 reviews
"biscuits and gravy"
in 24 reviews
"flour mill"
in 21 reviews
"cinnamon rolls"
in 19 reviews
"breakfast tacos"
in 17 reviews
"champagne chicken"
in 14 reviews
"house coffee"
in 9 reviews
"great place for breakfast"
in 7 reviews
"the king william district"
in 23 reviews
"enchiladas"
in 16 reviews
"wait for a table"
in 6 reviews
"small museum"
in 12 reviews
"san antonio river"
in 20 reviews
"the river"
in 35 reviews
"outdoor seating"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 8 reviews
"walking tour"
in 6 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 522 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We woke up late ambled our way to the historic house, museum and restaurant. We were there for breakfast and quickly learned that so was the rest of San Antonio. While we waited for a hour and a half to be seated, we looked at the Guenther family museum and enjoyed a warm October day in the garden.
Fare is limited and the portions generous. The biscuits are huge and more resemble mini loafs of bread. She said the gravy was just “ok” and needed more seasoning. I had the club sandwich with fruit on the side. I could only eat half the meal.
I advise that you arrive either early or late for Sunday breakfast. Ten thirty is too late and you will have a long wait. At one pm your wait will be shorter

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank raymonn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

If you are looking for a hearty breakfast try the Guenther House. Great atmosphere, wonderful gift shop and fantastic waffles, biscuits and gravy and cinnamon rolls. Wander upstairs and see a few of the original rooms. You can buy their waffle, pancake and gingerbread mixes to go in the gift shop.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

The museum is literally a foyer and room of a house displaying some furniture and dishes. The attached store had some interesting baking items. It also has a restaurant in the basement and outside, smelled good but limited seating. Unless you are eating at the restaurant this is only a 15 minute stop.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank travelmom252017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This is basically a tourist location with busloads of people lining up to eat (no reservations). Menu pretty limited. We ended up not eating but wanted to see the museum which is free. But it is a stretch to call it a museum, hardly anything to see. Look at it from the outside but if you are really interested in the history of the area there are a couple of house museums in the King William District a couple of blocks away that are far superior for representing that age. And the other houses on King William street are very interesting to walk by.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank FrequentFlier809842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guenther House Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Guenther House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing