We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see”

The Guenther House Museum
Ranked #34 of 227 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Majestic home belonging to the founders of the Pioneer Flour Mill.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This is basically a tourist location with busloads of people lining up to eat (no reservations). Menu pretty limited. We ended up not eating but wanted to see the museum which is free. But it is a stretch to call it a museum, hardly anything to see. Look at it from the outside but if you are really interested in the history of the area there are a couple of house museums in the King William District a couple of blocks away that are far superior for representing that age. And the other houses on King William street are very interesting to walk by.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank FrequentFlier809842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 93 reviews
"biscuits and gravy"
in 24 reviews
"flour mill"
in 21 reviews
"cinnamon rolls"
in 19 reviews
"breakfast tacos"
in 17 reviews
"champagne chicken"
in 14 reviews
"house coffee"
in 9 reviews
"great place for breakfast"
in 7 reviews
"the king william district"
in 23 reviews
"enchiladas"
in 16 reviews
"wait for a table"
in 6 reviews
"small museum"
in 12 reviews
"san antonio river"
in 20 reviews
"the river"
in 35 reviews
"outdoor seating"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 8 reviews
"walking tour"
in 6 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2018

We went here to see the lovely house ( one of the first in San Antonio) with history of the German settlers. What we found was an interesting museum with history of old San Antonio. We found fantastic views of the San Antonio River. AN D we found downstairs an outstanding restaurant.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Chinapjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We went there for lunch on our last day because we won a gift card only wish we could have went there sooner. Our food was excellent, they brought us homemade rolls that were so good. We had club sandwiches and dessert everything was great. We bought cinnamon rolls and cookies to take with us. The only downfall was they told us we could walk from the hotel (they didn't tell us it was almost a 2 mile walk but that has nothing to do with the food and service of the Guenther House). Wish we could have had breakfast there.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank teresae259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

This is one of my favorite places in San Antonio! You have a chance to see a piece of history along with a beautifully preserved historical house with breathtaking views of the San Antonio River from the upstairs balcony. You'll feel like you are walking back in time, especislly with the General Store with relics of the past. Plus there is a sumptuous restaurant downstairs with an excellent variety of foods - omeletts, salads, sandwiches, pancakes and lots more to delight any palatte. Don't miss this one on your visit to downtoen SA.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Rosezdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Have been here many times but a first for other family members. Always have to have at least one meal at the restaurant when in town. Family was impressed with the museum and I also enjoyed seeing it again. One of my favorite places in San Antonio!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Gstrc501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guenther House Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Guenther House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing