We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian possibilities”
Review of Matamoros

Matamoros
Ranked #669 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Elizabethtown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Vegetarian possibilities”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The frozen mango margarita was terrific ( peach, not so much ). But, more surprising was an apparently new section ( so new, the waiter wasn't even familiar with it ) in the menu featuring vegetarian selections. I tried the chile rellenos, stuffed with a spinach and mushroom filling. Of course, it was smothered in Jack cheese, but the spinach flavor still came through and was quite tasty. My mother-in-law always gets the shrimp wrapped in bacon, because once she finds a good thing, she is afraid to take a chance and give something else a try. My husband had the enchilladas. Sorry, but to him it was ordinary Tex-Mex fare. Our waiter was extremely attentive and after my husband complained about too much ice in his margarita, got him a fresh one with no ice, but prepared in a chilled container.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank possum1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Eats!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Food was great. Too bad they don't serve breakfast. Delicious hand made flour tortillas!! A must Go!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbustos321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best salmon dish ever!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the fourth time I've eaten at Matamoros and each time it's been outstanding. I've only tried their Salmon Matamoros, grilled salmon topped with a sauce with shrimp and avocados wonderful! It's definitely worth trying. Service is always great. Restaurant is clean.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hazelljbmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and drink”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Best fajitas in south Texas. Margarita perfect compliment

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank elcidkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“Always EXCELLENT food and WONDERFUL service”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We do not get to Matamoros as often as we would like; however, each and every time we go the food is marvelous and the service is friendly and efficient. We have so enjoyed each and every dish we have eaten. The margaritas are so perfectly done and the atmosphere is very relaxed and comfortable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matamoros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing