We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish”
Review of Ilsong Garden

Ilsong Garden
Ranked #692 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North Central
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Interesting place. Definitely try the beef and chicken bulgogi. Their tempura is a little unusual but still tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorko135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm going to preface this review with my one year experience of military service in Korea and another two years with various Korean girlfriends.

For an appetizer we ordered the vegetable tempura, Which was hot, crisp and delicious. That, I would order again.

I ordered the Kalbe, which is one of the more expensive beef plates. It is beef rib meat, with the meat typically cut from the bones. What I got was a plate full of more bones than tough meet. This, I would not order again. If I were to go back I would order the Bulgogi instead and have it cooked at one of the in-table grills.

My girlfriend had the bibimbap, served in a hot stone bowl. This was as I have experienced and was delicious. This, I would order again.

We hadn't planned on a dessert, but the owner offered us a chocolate mousse and that was very tasty.

The bill came out to $61 and add another $10 for tip. I rated the value at a "2" because of the plate of bones I received.

Overall, what I'm saying is that Zagat never spent any time in Korea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_James82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Ok but have had better”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place was okay but the old Wang Goong on Austin Highway was much better. The chicken bulgogi was bland and the sauce too sweet. The oyster pancake was much better. Mackerel whole fish was... well very "fishy". Note that the sushi and even cooked fish appetizers are no longer offered, even though they still appear on the menu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Korea at home..you need to go!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was a nice surprise! Authentic Korean cuisine that I remember from my tour from Korea. The staff were so warm and friendly like they are in Korea. They greeted us like we were coming into their house. We had the Yaki Mandu, vegatable pancakes, beef Bulgogi and the Jam dang (spicy seafood soup). Everything was right on the money to include those little dishes of kimchi served with your meal. You have to try this restaurant! Next time, I will post pictures. People don't miss out on this great place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAJLich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Ah So Good”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Today we went to Ilsong Korean B-B-Q for a good friend's birthday. The diners can drive right up to the restaurant and get a parking place if front, if they are lucky. But there are various nearby restaurants, so at peak dining hour it might be more of a challenge to park. It is in a strip center, Blanco Junction. There were six of us, and we reserved a well lit table located in the front window. The charming owner greeted us personally and chatted for awhile. I did not walk around to check out the decor, but it seemed low key and tasteful. The food was outstanding. There were a lot of moderately priced luncheon specials. We started with a shrimp pancake, which were absolutely delicious. It comes to the table looking like a big pizza with lots of whole shrimp on top. It will serve eight, was perfect for six. It is finger food. Little bowls of yummy veggies were placed in a row in front of us..shaved raddishes, broccoli, cucumber, spicy cabbage, etc. Chopsticks seem to be the thing for this. For the main course, most of us had the B-B-Q, so tender that it falls right off the bone. We had forks, but didn't really need them. There is a choice of spicy or sweet sauce. Or, you may split the sauces half in half and try both. Two ladies ordered the soups. One had dumpling soup, and the other vegetables and beef. They highly approved of their selections. The iced tea was said to be great, and I loved my pot of hot tea. My friend had a very happy birthday, and we all had a great meal.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurplePaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilsong Garden also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Ilsong Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing