We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For San Antonio, seafood that is a cut above.”

Wildfish Seafood Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Wildfish Seafood Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Cross street: Inside Loop 1604 at Huebner Rd.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For San Antonio, seafood that is a cut above.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We moved her recently from the Seattle area. If you are a true seafood lover, this is probably the best you'll do in San Antonio. We have eaten here twice now, and the food and service are very, very good. The oysters on the half shell (Massachusetts) have all been excellent and very fresh (and I'm very fussy about oysters). My wife thinks the crab cakes are the best she's ever had. The main course fish has been terrific. We had halibut with a Thai slant last time, and it was perfectly cooked and wonderful. Stay away from the spinach side dish (grossly over-salted), but the beets are fantastic. Desserts (at least the Bananas Foster) are delicious but almost too much for two! I agree with another reviewer that the selection of wines by the glass could be better, but it's definitely not a deal breaker. Both times, the service has been not just good, but outstanding. The atmosphere is romantic up to a point, but I could do without the TV sets over the bar!!! So if you want seafood in San Antonio, start here!! In a land where everyone eats cheeseburgers, barbeque, or steak, this is an oasis!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jongeol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    126
    28
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
191 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In SA for a week, ate here Twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

One of the best seafood places short of being on the coast! The service was impecable, the plating beautiful and best of the food was great. Hot foods were hot, cold food were ice cold. Drinks were nice, not overly priced. Happy Hour has deals that cant be beat. Management were attentive and not a complaint to be had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Drslowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Wildfish is a restaurant that my husband and I try to visit every time we are in San Antonio. We were not disappointed this time! Love the romantic atmosphere, great service and delicious food. Beet salad was great, as well as my main course (halibut) and dessert (huge portion, so beware). It's a great place to go for a romantic dinner as a couple, as well as a fun dinner with friends. Will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DashkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Level Contributor
146 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Only Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went here, based on TA reviews. Were quite disappointed. For starters, they offered 4 reds by the glass, and all were sub-par. Our kind waitress let us taste every one, and all were too dry or otherwise un appealing. A place of this stature needs to improve their by the glass offerings. Our Caesar salad was disappointing, dressing was way too salty and otherwise boring. My pal,s redfish was average or better, as was his side of Brussels sprouts w/bacon. My scallops with citrus finish were only average. Nothing wrong with them, but nothing special, either. Just ordinary. For the prices paid, this place disappoints. Atmosphere was cozy, waitress was v good. Also, we had a free birthday dessert of choc cake w/ice cream, also v good. But the fish/seafood, the stuff we sought out,was only average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You're just going to love it! One for your bucket list and not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

From the moment you walk through the door, until you're negotiating which dessert to order, the experience at this restaurant is extraordinary. The service was wonderful, Allen did an excellent job, respected our pace for the evening, and gave us just what we needed . . .an upscale dining experience with a fantastic vibe, and culinary delights certain to please the most discriminating palette. My only regret is that this restaurant is too far away. I live in Rhode Island, and grew up in Maryland, surrounded by water, this restaurant rocks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfish Seafood Grille also viewed

 

Been to Wildfish Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing