We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAFB Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
Ranked #249 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LAFB Graduation”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is an older hotel. The rooms were clean, the pool area was nice. Front desk staff extremely helpful with directions. Rooms included fridge and microwave. The location was close to Lackland Airforce Base. Would use this motel again if going to LAFB

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aar31441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnLackland, Manager at Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for your response. We do out best to satisfy every guest that stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    15
    8
    15
See reviews for
31
3
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very close to the base, older hotel so not as modern and updated as some of the bigger hotel chains. Rooms were clean, pool area was nice (weather was in the 70's but we didn't swim) able to sit around and talk to other families that were there for graduation. Front desk staff was very helpful with directions and suggesions of places to eat. Rates were very reasonable, no need to spend 100-200 a night at other places, you weren't in the room that much! Shower heads are very low, my husband is 6'3 and it was in the middle of his chest :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnLackland, General Manager at Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
ks714, Thank you for your business and comments, we aim to provide a home away from home feeling. We love seeing the many families from all over the U.S. and look forward to seeing you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Valley Lake, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is not the newest, but it is clean, the staff is nice, there is basic breakfast included, rooms have a fridge and microwave, which were very handy. The pool is very small, but was perfect during the day when our airman wanted to relax while everyone else was running around San Antonio. Super close to Lackland - just a few minutes down the road. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ks714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnLackland, Manager at Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you, we aim to make every stay as comfortable as if you are at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

As others have mentioned, it doesn't look that great when you drive up, but the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, and our room was clean - including the bathroom. The room didn't smell old and I wasn't afraid to walk barefoot on the carpet. For the location and price, I would definitely recommend it for BMT graduation. The breakfast was enough to get you going at 6:30am to arrive in time at the gate for the run and the graduation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldfort, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed on a Saturday night in July. Was apprehensive when driving up, but looks can be deceiving! Very well maintained property. Was very much reminded of the motor inns near the beaches that I enjoyed as a kid. Room was clean, mini fridge, sofa bed, tv with cable that worked, free Internet, king sized bed(older styled but comfy enough), and the coldest air conditioning We have ever seen in a motel or hotel! Nice breakfast with many choices, staff was friendly, only thing that we found that was wrong was the water pressure. But it is Texas...many say the water pressure leaves something to be desired there in most places. Military discount, and very low rates for the area. Would recommend to anyone. Early check in(2) and late check out(noon) a plus too. Not a four or five star place but very good value. Also less than 5 minutes away from Lackland AF base.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here last summer. I will admit that when we first drove in, it looked old from the outside. The decor of the inside of the rooms weren't brand new looking but they were decent looking and very clean. The refrigerator and microwave were very clean and worked great. We had no problems with the bathroom, it was clean, plenty of towels. We had one issue the first night we were there, there were some people staying a few doors down and were outside at their truck drinking and using a mini looking bbq pit. I guess other people closer to them complained because management ended up coming to them about the complaints and they went inside their room with their drinks and turned off the bbq. We did'nt try the breakfast, so cant comment on that. In the end, it was a good place to stay, no major problems, it was clean, no issues with bugs or dirty bathroom/rooms. The clerks at the front desk were very nice and helpful when we needed directions to places.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Keeping in mind that this is a budget-rate motel, you can't expect luxury accommodations. But the staff were very pleasant and helpful, there was always plenty of hot water, and the toilet flushed like it would suck you right in if you stood too close! The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory, where you could make your own delicious waffles shaped like the State of Texas, and enjoy apple and orange juices, fresh-brewed coffee, donuts and muffins, and cold cereal and milk. But the selection of fresh fruit only included a bowl of apples (I personally would have liked to have a banana with my breakfast). "Gary" at the front desk was most helpful with everything from directions to the Air Force Base and local attractions, to providing a box and tape for shipping items home to avoid paying the extra baggage rates at the airport. He remembered to follow up on our inquiries (asked the next day if we needed directions to the nearest P.O.) and saw to our every need with polite, genuine hospitality. We stayed 5 nights, and the price we were charged at check out was exactly what we were quoted when we checked in -- no surprises or added fees. The pool is smaller than it looks in the pictures, but I only got to use it once anyway because we were running around sightseeing and spending time with my son who had just graduated basic training at Lackland AFB. The guest laundry room was a nice bonus, so we could do a load of laundry before packing up to leave (washer and dryer each cost $1, and laundry detergent and dryer sheets were available at the front desk for $1 each). The rooms were nothing fancy -- typical cheap motel -- but clean and changed daily as needed (we re-used some towels, etc., to be "green"). The cable TV worked fine, there's was a 'fridge and microwave in the room, and I had no problems whatsoever with the free wifi, so we were happy.
If you're looking for luxury with no quirky details (like a door that didn't always close securely without monkeying with the lock!), then look for a higher-priced place. But if you just want a place to crash and stash your stuff while out running around, that's convenient to Lackland Air Force Base, for a great price and staff that is pleasant to deal with, book it! I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darylann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#185 of 355 in San Antonio
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#154 of 355 in San Antonio
184 reviews
Far West Side
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland AFB
Studio 6 San Antonio - Lackland ...
#188 of 355 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Far West Side
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
Pinn Road Inn & Suites
#97 of 355 in San Antonio
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB

Property: Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
Address: 6500 Enrique M. Barrera Pkwy, San Antonio, TX 78227-3796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn Lackland AFB Welcome to the Rodeway Inn Lackland. We are conveniently located 1/2 mile from Lackland AFB (BMT Reception Center ) and the Training Annex for government and military guest. To add to the convenience only 6 miles from Sea World & 7 miles from world famous River Walk Downtown. Our newly renovated rooms lets you call us your home away from home. Some of the many features we have include: • Complimentary HOT Continental Breakfast with 24 hour coffee and tea and/or a "Grab & Go" • Free wired & wireless high-speed internet access in all rooms • Guest Laundry facilities • Outdoor Pool with sundeck and plenty of lounge chairs • In-room microwave and refrigerator • Business Center with access to copy and fax All guest rooms are designed for maximum comfort and convenience!! We here at Rodeway Inn Lackland strive to constantly make sure we are doing everything possible to ensure a fantastic lodging experience for our Guests, so that they feel (as they should) that they are the reason we are here . Rodeway Inn is please to treat you to the best stay for your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn At Lackland Afb Hotel San Antonio
Rodeway Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing