We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not much view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Nicely furnished room (two room suite) with balcony but the view was an old building. The riverwalk could be seen if you stood up from balcony but I would not say the view was good of the riverwalk. The evening h'orderves and drinks were great. Enough for a meal. The breakfast was hot and sufficent. The location of the hotel is convenient for riverwalk and alamo. Overall a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel if you want to sit on balcony and watch riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I chose this Drury cause it was near the Riverwalk and the nightly rate was reasonable for being so close to the riverwalk. I would definitely stay here again.cOur room was situated along the river so our view was of the river and The Esquire. Room was fine. Breakfast was very good. Evem the coffee was good. My only complaint was that the hallway carpets seemed in need of a good cleaning. Carpeting in our room could have used a good cleaning, too. Other than that, it was great. Ww were only steps away from the riverwalk. We would definitely stay at this Drury again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I love the character of the building. The rooms are modern, quiet and with very comfortable beds. It's right on the Riverwalk - not in the middle of all the restaurant chaos, but steps away from the fun! We stayed in the suite, which was the perfect size for 3 adults.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sregonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We liked this hotel very much friendly staff, clean, great free breakfast, kick back happy hour with snacks could make it a full meal with kids, good location on the river walk. Can't give it an excellent because they wouldn't honor our government discount on the rate and the garage is not big enough to fit bigger trucks, and bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMH523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good quality. Great location. Once you realize that almost everything on the River Walk has to do with food and drink, you can then enjoy downtown San Antonio for what it is. Lots of chains in evidence, like a culinary Disneyland - long on theatrics and short on finesse. The Alamo and seeing the Menger Hotel is fun, (and both are a short walk away) though the official version of what happened at the Alamo is pure Disney once again. Nevertheless, if you are in San Antonio and want to be downtown the Drury Inn is not a bad choice at all.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river. We had one facing the back and some other hotel with not much to enti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at the Drury Inn & Suites for 2 nights for work along with my boss and 4 of my coworkers and on the second night i found a pair of nasty, humongous panties along with old french fries behind the dresser and was absolutely appalled!!!! Also they do not have room service so it was a less then perfect experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are very sorry about your experience at our property. I can assure you that this is anything but a typical experience here, and we have taken steps to make sure that every nook and cranny is accounted for everytime. Guests occasionally put things in odd places and we'll be making every effort to make sure we find them. I do recall your situation and am glad that we were able to handle the problem immediately and fully. Your input is invaluable and helps us to do a better job in the future.

Sincerely,


Matthew Funk
Assistant General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent a week at the Drury Inn on the Riverwalk mid April.
Location, Location, Location - this hotel is in a great location. Just walk out the doors in your in the heart of the riverwalk.
Rooms - we got a 2 room suite with terrace, the size of the room was great and with a teenager it was nice to have a living room and bedroom to spread out. I would not spend the extra again for the terrace. We were on the six floor and it overlooked the river, but you needed to look down to see it, the view was really of the roof tops across the river. I imagine the rooms on the lower level have a better view.
My complaint about the rooms is the walls are very thin. The first few nights I was woken by the folks in the neighbooring room conversing. They were not yelling or being loud, just talking, but you could hear everything.
I also did not find the beds very comfortable which also made sleeping difficult.
Extras - we ate our breakfast every morning there. Selection was the same each day but it worked for us. Bagels, Waffels, scrambled eggs, yougurt, homefries. Only a couple times we did the 530 kick back. This was appetizer type food, meatballs, soup, chips and salsa, chicken fingers.
Hotel itself is clean, the carpets are definitly older, the roof top pool is nice. I did feel the average age group at the hotel was 60-70 year olds.
Overall the hotel was decent just not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcameron75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel! We are constantly looking to improve and provide a better experience for our guests and your input will be put to good use. We have recently made some changes to how sound affects our rooms and will continue to make improvements in the future. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to see you again and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,


Matthew Funk
Assistant General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,156 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 201 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $162 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk features comfortable rooms, a rooftop pool and plenty of meeting space for business events. It is located on the San Antonio River with countless restaurants and shops within scenic walking distance. This historically renovated hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Drury Inn And Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn Riverwalk
Drury San Antonio
Drury Inn San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing