We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“My new favorite Riverwalk hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My new favorite Riverwalk hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this hotel, it's easy to find and it's right on my favorite part of the Riverwalk. Easy walk to the Alamo, close to plenty of pubs and restaurants and the elevator goes right down to the Riverwalk. The food at breakfast and happy hour is great and filling if you don't want to go out to a restaurant and they have a popcorn machine and sodas most of the day, the Bloody Mary's were good as well. The suites are spacious, especially the balconies, huge...we had 6 people on the balcony with plenty of room for more. The suites overlooking the Riverwalk are great and the views are fantastic. Make sure you don't get a suite on the alley side. Also, if you intend on using the small fridge bring some pliers or call maintenance because they keep the fridge warm and take off the knob so you cannot adjust the temp. We almost ruined some food before realizing that the fridge was not cold enough and called maintenance. Amanda at check-in is a sweetheart and very helpful. Make your reservations in advance and keep checking the prices because they may go down and then call the hotel and switch to the cheaper rate. I highly recommend the Drury Inn and Suites Riverwalk, especially at Christmas!

Room Tip: Stay away from the alley side, the hotel is at the junction of the Riverwalk loop so some river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    369
    87
    47
    12
See reviews for
404
440
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is on the National Historic Register and has a wonderful history and architecture. We had a suite to accommodate our larger than average family. The balcony overlooked the Riverwalk. We loved the generous hot breakfast every morning. We were pleasantly surprised to discover that they serve popcorn and pop every afternoon and have a hot assortment of food on a buffet early each evening. The rooftop pool was very pleasant and clean. We had the whole area to ourselves one entire afternoon. Also, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Papes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel saved our trip to San Antonio. A weekend of rain dampened our plans - literally and figurative.y. We splurged for a room with a balcony and couldn't have been happier. The living room had a food area with a microwave, sink, and refrigerator in a cabinet which could be hidden away,as well as a small table. There was a huge tv in both the bedroom and the living room, and the rooms were insulated enough you couldn't hear one in the other room. It was great. The cocktail hour and breakfast were the only downsides for us -- overrun by families with kids. This was the weekend. re, if you are traveling with kids, probably couldn't be better. We weren't, so chose to go out the nights of the weekend we were there. Service was cheerful and efficient. Housekeeping was slow - but very good. Took down a star because of the kids (and if you are traveling with kids -- this would probably be a plus) and housekeeping not getting to our rooms til after 3.

Room Tip: Obtaining a room with a terrace and view of the cathedral is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlnsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We feel we have the best staff on the planet! I am sorry to hear that the weather was not perfect while you were here; there's so much to see outside on nice sunny days. The good news is that hopefully we will be able to have you back for all of the outdoor activities! The amenities we offer are definitely attractive to families that travel, especially during holiday and summer months. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to improve for our customers as a result.

Sincerely,


Matthew Funk
Assistant General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in December 2012 for a "Girl's Night Out" on the San Antonio Riverwalk. Our room was perfect for 4 and had a second room with a couch and television to hang out in. The free appetizers and drinks in the evening were not great but hey they were free! You are limited to three cocktails per person. Very close to all the nightlife!! Had a great time and will be back this month for my daughter's birthday with 6 teenage girls!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverTX67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first experience with the Drury hotel chain and a good experience at that. Clean rooms, plenty of extras and a very accommodating staff. Free extras include a hot breakfast daily (get there early in the morning if you want a seat), WiFi, Kickback snacks at 5:30 (could be a meal if you like macaroni and cheese , chicken wings and hot dogs), and three alcoholic beverages from 5:30 to 7:00. What made this location great was that it was right on the Riverwalk. We could walk out the bottom door of the hotel and not have to cross any streets. I would recommend paying the extra $10 a night for a room with balcony overlooking the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We brought my 91 year old Grandmother to this hotel. There were 4 of us girls so we wanted two rooms with a door between and a balcony view. I called ahead and asked if they had adjoining rooms and they said yes. I went online and booked two adjoining rooms with a balcony view. When we arrived we were told by the manager that the rooms were not called adjoining but connected. She said "we'll, you are not familiar with the hotel industry and probably don't know that is called a connected room." I am aware what they are called....look it up in the dictionary. She said that adjoining rooms could mean across the hall from each other. NOT! I was not happy when she said there were NO connecting rooms available. We had to be next to each other. Ok, fine. We get upstairs and there is a door in my room going to another room not belonging to my Grandmother and I never heard anyone in that room. Aside from that experience, it was a nice hotel, clean, on the river walk, they have a nice breakfast included and enough food in the evening that we didn't even have to go to dinner. The beds were VERY comfortable and the rooms very quiet. I would stay again but know now that I have to be very specific with the definition of adjoining because it doesn't mean the same thing to everyone.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Clean. Friendly staff. Clean. Free Wifi. Comfortable beds. Clean. Easy access to and from the riverwalk. Secure. Great breakfast buffet with many choices. Each evening at 5:30pm they have a free "Kick Back" buffet and up to three alcoholic drinks per adult. Yeah! Parking garage on site. Texas Land and Cattle Restaurant & Bar downstairs at the riverwalk level. We had a really good view of downtown from our window (6th floor). On the top floor, they have a heated (in winter) pool with a jaccuzi seating area that you can swim into on one end. We will be staying here the next time we return to San Antonio, as the Drury is an excellent value at a perfect location!

Room Tip: Parking garage ends at the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krwilliams4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Address: 201 North St Mary's, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Step outside and into the unmatched beauty of the San Antonio River Walk. With countless restaurants and shops within scenic walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Drury Inn Riverwalk
Drury San Antonio
Drury Inn San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing